DUSIT THANI : REVISITED

September 20, 2009 – Two days after my 33rd birthday, my wife, Tina gave me her present : a confirmed reservation for the two of us, with our son, Gabby who eats for FREE at Dusit Thani’s Family Sunday Brunch Buffet! It was our second time to experience such gastronomic adventure in 4 different themed restaurants of Dusit : Benjarong – Thai;  Basix -Asian-Continental;  Tosca-Italian;  Umu -Japanese; Our first dining experience of such epic proportions at Dusit was only last March and can be viewed here; it was such a blast, we had so much fun! 😀 

After I have donated blood last Thursday at St. Luke’s Medical Center, as my humble charity work for my birthday, and revisited Bellini’s with my family on the day when I turned a year older, this buffet brunch is more than enough.  For the moment, life cannot be better than this! 😀

1  2

We both love Dusit; it’ll be forever memorable for the 2 of us, because 2 sections of its ballroom served as our wedding reception venue more than five years ago. And the brunch we had  six months back was so remarkable that we promised ourselves that we’ll try and explore other dishes some time.  We even spread the word about this Family Brunch Buffet to our colleagues and friends. 😀

We arrived at the hotel lobby at 11AM exactly half an hour before buffet starts. After paying PhP 1450 nett per pax, the friendly staff gave our wrist bands that rendered access to those 4 fantastic restaurants in Dusit Thani.  We also got a chance to roam around the Japanese garden opposite Umu while waiting…

3  4

We like those kois on the pond and that man-made waterfalls…

5IMG_373976

We shot photos of Gabby at every ‘road signs’ heading to those 4 restos which he enjoyed so much! 

17  IMG_0013

Though she likes Basix, my wifey chose to reserved a table for 3 at Umu for she knows that I like the ambiance of that Japanese restaurant; not to disregard the fact that I’m excited to eat Umu’s teppanyaki again! 

Who can resist the beauty of Umu?

10121314

Its contemporary Japanese interiors is so inviting.  With those wooden tablets in black with gold Japanese characters, and a sushi-sashimi station at the center, and a classy atmosphere, everyone is easily drawn to its charm.

After being ushered to our table by a purple-Kimono clad staff, Tina and Gabby went to Basix to get some yummies, while I walked straight to an area in Umu to get some of these…

2018 

At the Teppanyaki section, you have the freedom to choose the ingredients you’d like the chef to grill for you at his teppan – from the freshest beef cubes which I skipped;  to thinly sliced veggies, bean sprouts, mushrooms, shelled tiger prawns, pink salmon and lapu-lapu…A dash of salt and pepper and other Oriental seasoning and oil, voila!  

1923

My teppanyaki plate from Umu is always a personal favorite! I just love how those fresh seafoods are grilled to perfection!

IMG_3793

I also got goodies that were deeply fried upon request :  prawn and bacon which was sooo good! and ham and cheese, eggplant on sticks. 

2122 

I didn’t pass the chance to try another favorite from Umu : SUKIYAKI 😀   Look how those bowls of very tender marbled beef and stock with veggies and soft tofu are prepared…

2425

The glass noodles were soft and thick; the soup itself was never too sweet, neither too salty… Sarap!

26

Unlike Sukiyaki from other Japanese restos, Umu’s version doesn’t disappoint because of its almost fatless beef.  Isn’t it obvious that I really like Umu? LOL 😀

Other delectable must-try are :  (from left to right)  Tamago rolls, Ika Karaage,  Salad, Cold Soba…

27293031

What’s a Japanese restaurant without sushi and sashimi ?

32

On way to Basix, there’s a lady dressed as Thailander who played the string instrument, Khim.

3334

Basix has this relaxed and cool ambiance…

3635

Tina and Gabby brought to our table at Umu this plate from Basix…

37

I was informed by the chef at Umu’s Teppanyaki section that Ebi Tempura’s cooking was transferred to Basix.  Because it’s one of Gabby’s favorites, Tina got him generous servings of those battered shrimps. It’s not the best tempura we’ve tasted but nonetheless, OK.  The mussels from Basix were bordering from tasteful to bland;  still we favor Circles Events Cafe of Makati Shangri la when it comes to New Zealand Mussels. 😀

4138

When I went to Basix, I got a slice of Roast Beef and 2 wrapped rolls of Peking Duck.  Peking Duck tasted fine, but I wish they can improve the Roast Beef’s mushroom gravy into a thicker consistency and making it more flavorful.

 39

There are tons of choices to choose from the spread at Basix;  the buffet duration of 11:30 AM to 3PM is just not enough! Too many food, so little time, LOL 😀

4243

What makes Dusit Thani’s Sunday Family Crossover Brunch creatively unique compared to other Live-cooking / open-kitchen buffets in other hotels is that diners in Dusit can burn calories immediately after munching.  How? One has to walk from the base-station of choice (for us :Umu!) to the other 3 themed restos.  I view it as Dusit’s advantage rather than its opposite.  Diners may take the grand winding stairs, or on our case, who were tooooo lazy to walk, take the lifts to go to the mezzanine where Benjarong and Tosca are located.  At the lobby, there are interesting characters to cheer up kids and the kid-at-hearts –  just like this smiley stilt-walker who’s always ready for a photo-op 😀

40 44

Being a Thai hotel in Manila, it’s not surprising that Dusit Thani’s Benjarong boasts of ambiance that’s so elegant and enticing to the senses. The entrance to Benjarong has a wall adorned with ceramics that will lead you to the main dining area.

4546

But, I guess my palate isn’t partial to Thai dishes, whether mild, or super spicy. I only like their desserts.

4748

YAM SOM O : Pomelo Salad,  and YAM PLA DOOK FOO : Crispy Fried Catfish with Green Mango Salad 

4950

YAM SAI KRAWK BACON THOD : Spicy Bacon Wrapped Sausage

MEE KROB KRATHONG : Sweet and Sour Crispy Vermicelli in Pastry Cup.

My Thai plate had a bit of everything…

5152

I like those Thai sweet treats with coconut milk and glutinous rice…

KHANOM TAKO : Sweet Water Chestnut and Coconut Cream in Pandan Cup -> sarap!

KHANOM SOD SAI : Stuffed Glutinous Flour Ball with Grated Coconut and Sugar -> yum!

KHAO NIAO MAMUANG : Ripe Mango with Sticky Rice -> I love mangoes; i like rice! Tasted like bico.

Let’s leave Benjarong and allow me to take you to TOSCA, the Italian Restaurant of Dusit Thani in Makati…

5354

Tosca is noted for its sophistication and class… the atmosphere is made subdued and comfy by a musician who plays the piano while diners enjoy some of the best Italian cuisine…

5556

FREE FLOWING ITALIAN SPARKLING WINES, anyone ?  This is another edge of Dusit Thani’s buffet. In other hotels,  rates do not include beverages, but in Dusit, you can enjoy Italian wine flavored with either Dalandan or Raspberry to your hearts content! Other drinks available are Lemongrass Juice from Benjarong, Iced Green Tea from Umu, Dalandan and Raspberry Juices from Basix all in bottomless servings! Plus the staffs are always ready with smiles, which I most like!

There are wide array of food to be cooked and prepared upon request, from pasta to pizza, to salads and more. 

IMG_3844585961

I so wish our stomachs are bottomless too, LOL 😀  We can only eat as much. 😀

6364

I asked one of the chefs in Tosca to prepare me a personal-sized pizza. As he began to knead the dough I requested all toppings available except for olives. Tina and I aren’t fanatics of olives.  He politely told me to return after 5 minutes as he bakes my pizza.  It was delicious; the bread alone can stand sans toppings!  As I enjoyed the pizza freshly made from Tosca, I failed to savor other Italian dishes like that Turkey Breast Stuffed with raisins and sage on roasted tomato cream (photo beside pizza); it looks delicious as well.

One rule that Tina and I have learned from buffets :  MAKE ROOM FOR DESSERTS !

After my wife entrusted Gabby to the very accomodating staffs of KIDS’ STATION at the lobby, Tina and I became so busy with desserts… (Gabby opted to play and watch his favorite cartoons, Spongebob rather than stuffed his tummy like his parents, LOL).   We had ice cream from Tosca, as we look upon Gabby.   

6665

DESSERTS from TOSCA : DIVINE!

6869

70

DESSERTS from BASIX : SUBLIME!

717273IMG_0018

Care for some D-I-Y  HALO-HALO or CHOCOLATE FONDUE that tastes like Hershey’s?

IMG_3856IMG_3888 

While Gabby became occupied with having his face painted for FREE, Tina and I sat at Basix and had blueberry and mango crepes!  I had mine topped with almond flakes.  

IMG_3896IMG_3898IMG_3886IMG_3889

BENJARONG SWEETS : EXQUISITE…

IMG_3873IMG_3876IMG_3874IMG_3817

DESSERTS from UMU :  TOOTHSOME…

IMG_3765IMG_3766IMG_3768IMG_3767

Half hour before 3PM, we took time to photograph Gabby with the friendly balloon-maker and the man on stilts…

IMG_3903  IMG_3902

It was another memorable fun day with my family.  What a way to welcome my 33rd year!  The buffet was only icing on the cake;  I am so grateful to our good Lord for my family’s health and safety.  I am just thankful for having Tina and Gabby!  😀 

IMG_3904IMG_3798IMG_3797IMG_3908

We love Dusit Thani’s Sunday Family Crossover Brunch! 😀

Dusit Thani Manila, Ayala Center, Makati City/Tel (63-2) 867-3333 Every Sunday 11:30 AM to 3:00PM/ PhP 1450 nett for adults/PhP 725 nett for children 6 to 12 years old.

20 thoughts on “DUSIT THANI : REVISITED

  1. Great post again sir! 🙂

    I wish more food photos were taken in Benjarong. I like thai food kasi :))

    I have a question, so if your “home base” is in UMU, is that the only place for you to eat all the other dishes you’ve obtained from the other 3 restos?

    1. thanks, jp!
      i didn’t get to photograph tom yum and other thai dishes from benjarong for the lack of time or partly because, unlike you, i really don’t like thai food that much.
      it’s ironic for we also enjoyed our honeymoon in bangkok, but it was only yesterday that i discovered that thai cuisine won’t work for my taste. to each his own, of course.

      you have to confirm your base resto upon reservation and yes, you have to bring your plates from the other 3 to your chosen restaurant. but after “peak hours”, around 1:30 or past 2PM, and whenever there are tables available from the other restos, you may ask the receptionists from either umu, tosca, basix, and benjarong if they can accomodate you just like we did when we’re done with umu; we transferred to basix to have our crepes done; the friendly basix staff allowed us to stay at one of the free tables to our delight.

  2. Nakita ko palang yung mga food pics nabusog na ako! Although I can’t eat much at these “all-you-can-eat” places, I enjoy going there because of the wide selection of food available. It just bothers me when I see people leave a lot of uneaten food on their plates or stockpile a particular food item (usually king crab or lobster)on a couple of plates and bring them to their table. Puede namang bumalik maski ilang beses and stay at the resto until “sawa” time LOL.

    1. hi bert! ako nga nagutom ulit habang ina-upload yung mga pics namin, LOL 😀
      we feel the same about those diners who are “takaw-mata” and would fill in their plates from buffet spread with food as if there’s no tomorrow. sayang ang pagkain pag hindi nauubos, ang daming nagugutom! now i’m melodramatic, but it’s true.

      i was brought up by my parents & lolos lolas with the thought that blessings on our plates should be valued. otherwise, they always tell us, “magtatampo ang grasya”.

  3. Waaaaaaaaaaaah!!! Sunday Crossover again! I have been wanting to try this. I hope very soon coz I just found out that my friend has a 50% off in Dusit and we can use that for the Sunday brunch. But I am not sure kung lalabas pa ako ng buhay after the brunch. LOL. Andaming food!

    Happy Birthday friend. May the Almighty Being shower you and your lovely family with infinite blessings. 🙂

    1. while you are busy in most bed and breakfast in hotels, b’ley, the dyosa in you should also try buffet brunches especially in dusit brunch every sunday! we’ve also tried circles events cafe in shangri la makati, heat of shangri la edsa, spiral in sofitel and the list goes on… LOL.

      thanks for the greetings my friend! wow, i feel we’re so close even just virtually, LOL 😀
      God bless you too!

  4. oh my!! ang saraaap!!! tama tama si tina (nakiki close na naman ako haha), make room for desserts! desserts are heaven! haha! 😛 so di ok sayo ang ebi tempura nila? yan ang fave ko sa lahat ng japanese dishes!

    kitang kita ko ang saya ni gabby diyan, doc. tama, icing lang yang buffet na yan dahil ang main course mo ay ang family mo. aaawww! you have a kind heart doc! more more bdaaays to come! 🙂

    1. hey dyanie! close na tayo, hehehe, kasi we’re mutual blog buddies, right? thanks for frequenting my site, it keeps me going!

      medyo di ko gusto ang ebi tempura ng basix sa dusit only because if its batter. but like you, i’m a sucker for anything shrimps as well, especially tempura!

      thanks for the kind words, princess dyanie! it’s apparent in your posts that you also have a good heart 😀

  5. LOL nice: epic proportions, indeed! Bellini’s is always worth revisiting. I wonder what time you ate your next meal after that sinful adventure… I agree with the hotel’s program title. It works well with kids, but of course, single guys and girls can also find everything memorable. I am yet to venture into hotel food. This post is so helpful, doc.

    1. good question, FLF! as i’ve stated, our intake was consumed gradually as we toward one resto after another, but still it took us a while before eating dinner last sunday after that very hearty brunch at dusit. the buffet at dusit isn’t only kid-friendly; there’s always something for everyone and we always like it that way!

    1. thanks, VITC! i really like your posts & your own adventures -travel & dining, the works.
      good for you if you’re joining that marathon. i’m still tooooo lazy for that, lol. perhaps i have to find time one day to try it as well 😀
      anyway, have a great time at dusit thani next week! thanks again.

  6. Grabe naman ito sir! Overload! Pero syempre gusto ko rin i-try. hehe I love seafood, and those grilled prawns and fish are enough to convince me. It’d be nice to invite friends too. There’s nothing like good company with good food I always say. Great review!

  7. Magtatanong po sana ko kung ano yung mga must try dishes sa 4 na restaurants…It’s my family’s first “sosyal” lunch and i don’t want my parents to miss anything…thanks po.

Thank you for your comments!

