WE GOT FREE BRUNCH @ CHINAHOUSE

10 November 2012. Saturday. Between Victoria and Beach Streets, George Town, Penang.

Untitled

Hats off and thank you very much to the 567 facebook buddies who voted for my photo entry at ChinaHouse Shoot and Win contest. Whether you clicked ‘like’ voluntarily or voted with force and coercion, hahaha!  it became one of the 8 finalists! Maraming Salamat po! 😀 Congratulations too to the 2 Chinese-Malaysian winners!

finalist, photo contest penang

Despite I didn’t win that Langkawi getaway, we devoured a FREE brunch at ChinaHouse and for that, I am so grateful!!!

chinahouse george town penang

It’s nice to indulge once in a while with your love ones and even nicer if it’s FREE!
Now, try to spot Gabby amidst that heavenly table…

chinahouse george town penang

Bingo! I felt I won the jackpot when I saw that spread again! Salivary glands and gastric acid secreting cells were all stimulated. Judgment on what to order was the biggest problem. It took us a while to decide from the menu.  So while waiting for our food and having difficulty of choosing desserts, I cannot get enough of it and snapped my camera a countless times on that table filled with cakes and pastries! Here’s a few of my captures of that mouthwatering ChinaHouse spread…

chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang

Is it not happiness? 😉

Untitled

We texted and called Tina who opted to stay in our apartment to get some extra hours of rest and do motherly and wifely duties at home (read : household chores).

I noticed it didn’t take a while for our choices to land on our table. Let the pig-out begin! 😛

Untitled

Gabby ordered two plates. First was Toasted Banana Bread With Fresh Banana and Cream.

chinahouse george town penang

While I enjoyed the tasteful Homemade Beef Sausage & Scrambled Egg Muffin with Tomato Relish.

chinahouse george town penang

That tomato relish was the bomb! It complemented my breakfast plate so well that it made me forget about the importance of calorie counter. Got yah! I’m not on a dietary regimen (yet). In as much as I want to give importance to health as my license and profession dictate me to do so, indulgence ruled over those moments! I was too weak (again) to resist! Resistance is futile once more! LOL! 🙂

Gabby’s second plate was Yoghurt, Fresh Fruit Salad with Granola & Honey. Sugar and sweetness overload!

chinahouse george town penang

Our wonder boy didn’t finish everything he ordered; I guess like me, he was overwhelmed! No problem as it’s a part of my Daddy duties to finish the plate whenever needed *insert evil grin here*.

Before ordering desserts (yes, we still had room for sweet endings!), Gabby walked to the shelves and got some kiddie books. He initially browsed the very educational (kidding!) Pokemon!

chinahouse george town penang

then he shifted his pure and young attention to a more serious, morally uplifting hardbound, “Walter the Farting Dog”, LOL!

chinahouse george town penang

Not long after, our appetites were ready again! Gabby had few fork-dunks on Chocoholics’ Chocolate Cake; the rest of its slice was our takeaway for Tina.

chinahouse george town penang

Over and beyond those multiple cakes and pastries, I succumbed to the decision of having Tiramisu again. It’s really unforgettable the first time I had it, thus a repeat was a must!

chinahouse george town penang

ChinaHouse’s Tiramisu, now officially known as one of my kryptonites! 😉

Untitled

To wash everything down, I had Fresh Orange Juice while Gabby didn’t finish his glass of Strawberry Smoothies. Water in a cute capped tall bottle was provided free (FYI, other restaurants in Penang charge a few cents for iced water).
chinahouse george town penang

After our 112-ringgit-hearty-brunch, Gabby and I went to the first floor (yes, it’s ground floor first here in Malaysia) to see the art gallery of ChinaHouse.

chinahouse george town penang

Luckily, it’s opened as it was otherwise during my first visit. There’s an on-going-art-exhibits of various local artists of which one’s entitled, Circus, I think. Pardon me as I didn’t get the other titles of the show.

chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang

It’s almost past noon when we left ChinaHouse.

chinahouse george town penang
chinahouse george town penang

Gabby and I agreed that Tina will like ChinaHouse too. And with that, it’s a conclusion that it won’t be our last to dine-in at ChinaHouse; we shall be back one day with my loving wife.

chinahouse george town penang

Thank you so much, ChinaHouse! You’re one of our family’s best food finds in George Town, Penang! 🙂

*For my first blog post about ChinaHouse, click  THIS!!!

_______________________

CHINAHOUSE | 153 & 155 Beach Street & 183B Victoria Street, George Town, Penang.  http://chinahouse.com.my/

20 thoughts on “WE GOT FREE BRUNCH @ CHINAHOUSE

  1. Congrats!

    Had I known of this ChinaHouse before we went to Penang, I’d go in a heartbeat and my friend would have to drag me out of here. That cake/pastry spread is just mouthwatering!

  2. I think one of the best move you made when you started working abroad is to purchase you state of the art Nikon camera. It made you a better photographer than you already are. Kaya lang, be sure to spend more time with your wife than with Nikon or you will miss her excellent home cooking and probably, your Nikon too. Just kidding.

    1. i was laughing again after reading your comment, bert! i assure you, Tina’s not the jealous type; no competition between her and my Nikon too. hahaha! 🙂 thanks for the nice words too btw, sana nga totoong nag-improved ng kaunti ang photo-skills ko.

  3. .. 564 + me, lg and tina votes, haha! are you already starting your travel plans to go to india (got a picture there with the lonely planet guide book with the choco cake!)?

    1. that india travel guide book’s from the library of chinahouse! got no definite plans yet for india but for my very first solo backpacking trip before the year ends, 80% is polished already! yay! 😀

    1. thanks, ed!
      are you still in thailand? saw your photos with gael taken by estan in siem reap. sayang di ako pumunta ng cambodia for blogfest asia. some other time, perhaps.

Thank you for your comments!

