INTOXICATING VIEWS

How can you say no to a skyline like this?

skybar

Resistance is futile. I am seduced once more by its beauty effortlessly.

skybar
petronas twin towers
petronas twin towers

And I went here alone, without my family, with no one but my feet and my camera. So sue me.

skybar

Truth is, I brewed everything for this. Call me anything you want for all I care but I had to secure a green light from my loving wife, Tina. I couldn’t be grateful enough when she agreed. I was silently jumping for joy actually!

You need to continue reading, I tell you!

When I started planning to revisit Malaysia’s capital to renew my passport at the Philippine Embassy, I thought of  visiting a few premier places that partly provide logic to the fact that Kuala Lumpur is this country’s metropolis. I could not believe everything because while doing a little online research, I received an invitation via email from a luxurious food and beverage outlet group for an exclusive food tasting tour of not one but four of their restaurants -some of them where the food places where celebrities Michael Bolton and Tiger Woods dined separately this year. That will be featured on this blog NEXT! 🙂

Go on, keep reading! 🙂

Then a fellow and recognized blogger endorsed my name to an agency in Singapore whose main office is in Scotland, for me to be one of their airline food survey participants. The task is to do an airline food review in any of the flights of airlines on their list before November 24, 2012; rate the airline food, blog and tweet about it and get paid in USD! The amount isn’t HUGE but sure worth it. Thus, I decided to fly back from Kuala Lumpur to Penang for this opportunity.

There’s more news! 🙂

A real-life-couple-travel bloggers invited me for a meet-up in Kuala Lumpur where they’re based for more than a year now. We met up, dined and chat the day I arrived in KL. It was fun. Will blog it soon!

I digress.

Because I only have limited budget and worse, with only 3 days and 2 nights, my choices of trendiest, the most sophisticated and stylish chill out spots have been narrowed down to a handful.

Let this LUXURIOUS KUALA LUMPUR BLOG Series begin with SKYBAR, located at the 33rd level of Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur manned no less than Shangri La Hotels.

skybar
skybar traders hotel kuala lumpur

I made reservation via email for one of the cabanas with the best view of the incredibly iconic,

Petronas Twin Towers

and the wonderful KLCC Park that’s filled with lush greens underneath.

klcc park
skybar

I had to see  and use the tandas. Good thing it’s almost spotless.

skybar

I also liked the fact that SkyBar thought of even the tiniest detail that some people tend to overlooked. Because the cabanas are enclosed with comfortable lounges where one can fully extend and relax the tired and aching legs, there are foot stools for the guest to use to step up. Signs and floating lights in immaculate white and powder blue colors on the pool were placed to serve as guides so nobody slips over. Now being drunk and trying to dive like an olympian on the pool is another issue! LOL!

skybar
skybar
skybar
skybar

Just before I ordered for snack and drinks, I saw some swimmers. There was a little girl frolicking on the pool…

skybar

Then, there’s grandpa…

skybar

One of the reasons why I chose to visit SkyBar was to experience not only viewing my favorite structure in Malaysia differently this time, but to know how it feels like to go to a bar with a swimming pool at the middle. It’s bizarre but looks amazingly unique to me!

skybar
skybar

Isn’t the view intoxicating?

skybar

Try to spot the sweetest couple of the night…

skybar

Then marveled like a kid at the dancing fountains seen from the park.

kuala lumpur malaysia
klcc

Now, here’s what I ordered from SkyBar’s menu.

skybar

Patnubay ng Magulang ay Kailangan. Google Translate that if you wish and you may read this blog’s DISCLAIMER, thank you!

skybar

I asked Lynn, who happens to be the friendliest staff of SkyBar, of their bestsellers. The young and beautiful lady deserves a raise and a promotion in my opinion for recommending the Selangor Sling and Buffalo Wings for me to sample. Of course anyone would find the menu’s prices steeper when compared to food in hawkers! Toinks!. I say, you never get these view, this service, this ambiance, this experience anywhere else.

skybar

Selangor Sling. Tanqueray 10 gin and cherry brandy liqueur shaken with pressed pineapple juice, fresh lemon juice and a touch of angostura bitters strained over ice in a sling glass topped with soda and benedictine d.o.m. garnished with lemon and maraschino cherry. RM42++.

selangor sling
selangor sling

The sunset in Malaysia comes around 7:30PM or so, hence I ordered another drink while waiting for dusk.

Take two : Patnubay ng Magulang ay Kailangan. Google Translate that if you wish and you may read this blog’s DISCLAIMER, thank you!

skybar

My last order at SkyBar was that pint of beer for 20 ringgit.  I thought it’s appropriate to drink in a bar rather than fresh milk. *wink*

Now I know why SkyBar is ranked mostly by foreigners as one of the most must-visit-chill-out-places in KL. 🙂

*Stay tuned to this blog series!  

SKYBAR | Level 33 Traders Hotel Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur City Center, 50088 Malaysia | www.skybar.com.my

*This is not a sponsored post.

*This Luxurious Kuala Lumpur Blog Series includes :

__________

7 thoughts on “INTOXICATING VIEWS

  1. that’s a fancy place. it would have been better if tina and gabby were with you. i’m sure they’d be awed by the views from up there too. can’t wait for the rest of the posts.

    btw, congrats on all the blessings coming your way.

    1. thanks, maria! tina and gabby chose to be and enjoy the Malaysian public holiday plus the fact that gabby’s having school presentation/awards night this saturday evening, so he has to rest & prepare. they will join me in KL soon!

      yes, please stay tuned for the succeeding posts! the best is yet to come! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

