SENTRO 1771 | SERENDRA, BGC

ANS_8911

For a Balikbayan (Filipino who returns home from abroad), or an Overseas Filipino Worker like me, who certainly missed dining in restaurants that take pride in serving Filipino cuisine with a modern twist and play on classic and well-loved flavors, Sentro 1771 is such a welcome treat! I’m thankful that I was invited to join a small group of bloggers to sample some dishes in its branch in Serendra, Bonifacio Global City at 3PM, last 15th December 2013, Sunday. The timing was quite late for lunch, yet so heavy for merienda or an afternoon snack.

I didn’t set any expectation as it was my first time to dine there. I was impressed at almost everything about Sentro 1771 and the dishes that I tasted except for one. Ambiance of the restaurant’s relaxed and elegant, perfect for families and friends with discriminating taste.Β  Service is highly commendable too! Not only quick and efficient, but most unique to what I’ve been to. I extremely liked the way waiters bring over the Sinigang or sour broth in a tea cup for tasting before they serve it. They can adjust its sourness and spiciness depending on the diners’ preference. Best of all, they refill the soup generously!

First of two appetizers that was served to us was Macau Chorizo and Cheese Tidbits.

ANS_8906
Macau Chorizo and Cheese Tidbits, PhP 240++. Mini Spring Rolls filled with Macau chorizo, shallots, quezo de bola.

If you like something crispy, textured and a bit salty, this one’s for you. I found the flavors of chorizo and quezo de bola in these fried spring rolls too perfect for words! They’re delicious sans the dip; but the more interesting tug-of-war of saltiness and sourness begins when you dunk each roll onto the vinegar dip.

Next appetizer:Β  Duck Pancakes.
ANS_8914
ANS_8909
Duck Pancakes. PhP 170++. Peking pancakes filled with strips of native duck slow-cooked in beer, rhum vinegar, soy sauce, and muscovado sugar.

I admired how those Duck Pancakes were served and the way the staff explained how it was supposed to be eaten. Of course, the filling must be tucked inside the light and crunchy pancakes to your palates’ delight. Yummy!
ANS_8922
Let the food tasting begin! πŸ™‚

Sentro 1771‘s Specialty of the House as noted on the first page of their menu, is their version of Sinigang na Corned Beef. Β But did it live up to its name and reviews from other diners?

Unlike my fellow bloggers who have already dined in Sentro 1771 Greenbelt branch, my standards for Corned Beef in Sour Broth was from other upscale Filipino restaurant. And unfortunately, this one from Sentro 1771 in Serendra simply fell flat on my taste buds.Β  Although the sourness and spiciness were adjusted to our taste as mentioned earlier, the corned beef chunks failed to do its part. Too bad as it’s labeled as Specialty of the House but there was nothing to rave about other than its ordinary Sinigang taste. I was telling my table mates who were comparing it to what they’ve loved in Greenbelt branch that probably, the one in Serendra had a different supplier of corned beef meat making the quality and taste varied; then again I was only speculating.

ANS_8970
Restaurant staff, Gelo refilling the tamarind broth in our Sinigang na Corned Beef bowl.
ANS_8951
ANS_8936
Sinigang na Corned Beef. PhP 595++. Corned beef short plate and boneless beef shanks in tamarind broth with native vegetables.

If the Sinigang na Corned Beef failed to satisfy me, the Stuffed & Grilled Fish of the Day tied in Pandan was otherwise.
ANS_8941
ANS_8952
Fish of the day Pandan, grilled.Β  PhP 220 per gram. Whole fish stuffed with sauteed onions, tomatoes, miso and malunggay, tied with pandan leaves.

Unless it’s buttered or eaten raw as sashimi or sushi, I don’t usually fancy fish dishes in restaurants until I sampled this F.O.D Pandan. It appeared so simple but surprisingly, it pleased my appetite that afternoon! It tasted fresh and was even made more flavorful with its filling and the soy-plus-lemon-sauce. Highly Recommended!

The next entree served to us was the Chicken Adobo sa Gata.

ANS_8944
Chicken Adobo sa Gata, PhP 250++. Still retains the vinegar-garlic-peppercorn balance but thickened with coconut milk.

Most Filipinos, if not all, love Adobo (seasoned meat cooked in soy sauce and vinegar). With or without coconut milk, one can never go wrong with any Adobo dish. I liked it but coming home from Malaysia where most of my days were spent eating chicken dishes, I had my little reservation.

More fascinating than the Adobo in coconut milk was the next plate on our table : Camote Cups!

ANS_8957
ANS_8963
Camote Cups. PhP 240++ Carved sweet potato filled with stir-fried cabbage, Baguio beans and carrots.

I like stir-fried-vegetable dishes like the very Pinoy, Lumpia (wrapped or not); this one’s a modern version served on sweet potato cups. Definitely a must-try for those who favor fibers! Delicious and healthy!

Another dish that earned my two-thumbs-up was the Lamb Caldereta.

ANS_8968
Lamb Caldererta. PhP 480++ Boneless lamb shoulder stewed with carrots, bell peppers, tomato sauce, and spices. It can be mild or spicy.

If you’re following this blog, my palates were exposed to 2 glorious lamb dishes from 2 great restaurants since I went home last October 20th, and luckily, I liked them both. This Lamb Caldereta was not an exception. I liked its tender meat and tasteful sauce.

Sentro 1771 also served us cups of plain rice to complement everything, however, I passed up and opted to try the Seafood Bagoong Rice which to me, is already a whole-meal-in-one!

ANS_8973
ANS_8976
Seafood Bagoong Rice. PhP 530++.Topped with grilled squid, garlic shrimps and hito flakes.
Brown or red rice – add PhP 45.

Given a chance to choose only one dish from everything we sampled, I’ll have that Seafood Bagoong Rice, bar none.

What’s a Filipino meal without sweet endings? For desserts, we had enjoyed common favorites, a few served with a twist.

ANS_8988
ANS_9007
Fried Suman and Mangoes. PhP 180++ Rolled-out suman fried to a light crisp and topped with ripe mangoes, served with coco jam.

Eating Fried Suman (Glutinous rice cake) and Mangoes with Coco Jam is never new to me;Β  even Thai people can relate so much to this favorite. I loved it but its small servings made me crave for more!

ANS_8998
ANS_8991
Banana Tart. PhP 150++ Puff pastry with a light custard, topped with caramelized saba banana slices.

As I toy a tentative mouthful of Banana Tart in my mouth, it brought back memories of eating Banana Cue as afternoon snack.

The last dessert they served to us deceived me actually. I initially thought it as Creme Caramel (Caramel Flan) or more locally known as Leche Flan but it’s cheesecake served with slices of salted egg and quezo de bola. It’s called Keso Flan!

ANS_8994
Keso Flan. PhP 220++Baked but light, no crust cheesecake served with quezo de bola and salted egg. Tastes like bibingka!

I almost forgot to mention, we washed down everything with Dalandan juice. Refreshing and thirst-quenching!

ANS_8902
Dalandan Juice.

With beautiful and contemporary take on Filipino cuisine, huge and tasty servings of dishes, casual and relaxed atmosphere, minimalist and classy interiors, attentive and friendly staff, Sentro 1771 is definitely one of the excellent choices when one wants to satisfy a Filipino craving!

ANS_9009

SENTRO 1771 | Ground Floor, Serendra Piazza, Taguig City | website : http://sentro1771.net/

*Special thanks to Sentro 1771 and Anton of http://www.pusangkalye.net for the invite.

>><<

6 thoughts on “SENTRO 1771 | SERENDRA, BGC

  1. yummylicious post. kakainis naman ikaw you keep sharing these mouthwatering dishes that we could only dream of partaking LOL!!!! in short, inggit to the max ako!!!!

    happy holidays to you, tina and gabby!

  2. Hi Doc Gelo,

    This is Angelica Gutierrez, the Digital Marketing Officer for Sentro 1771 and also the daughter of the owner, Ricky Gutierrez. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for coming to try our new dishes and blogging about them! I’m delighted that you enjoyed most of the food and appreciated our service – we do aim to please. πŸ˜‰

    It’s for this reason that I want to offer my sincerest apologies about the Corned Beef Sinigang – this is super embarrassing for us as it is our specialty of the house, not to mention the dish that put Sentro on the food map. If you would still remember, I would just like to ask what specifically it was about the corned beef chunks that “failed to do its part?” This is especially important to us since we don’t get our corned beef from any suppliers – we cure our own beef in-house for 3-5 days. Please rest assured that we will pass your comments to the kitchen so that this will never happen again. I’ll be sending you an e-mail so that you can give me your response privately. πŸ™‚

    At the same time, I want to thank you for your honest feedback. We really appreciate it as it is thanks to guests like you that we are able to constantly improve on our dishes and service.

    Thanks again and more power to you!

    Angelica Gutierrez
    Digital Marketing Officer
    1771 Group of Restaurants

    1. hi angelica,

      thank you for taking time reading my blog post and for leaving your comments.
      i really appreciate it.
      i’m also thankful that you acknowledged my honest feedback about the dishes, service & dining
      experience at sentro 1771, serendra branch. i always try my best to keep a non-biased blogging,
      regardless if the post is sponsored or not.

      as for the corned beef sinigang, i mentioned on this post that it ‘failed to do its part’ because
      i found it as not as fork-tender as it should be, and somewhat a little gummy.
      although i came to dine at sentro 1771 without expectations that afternoon, i do have my own
      standards and it may be subjective of course. admittedly, my comparison was that of my favorite
      corned beef sinigang from another restaurant.

      i hope this sheds light to your query.

      again, many thanks to you and to sentro 1771 serendra branch!

      1. Hi Doc Gelo,

        Thank you for your quick response! I find it very admirable that you blog in a non-biased manner, since as I said it helps us to improve and also gives your positive comments even more credibility. πŸ˜‰

        I’ve already passed on your additional comments to our head chef – please rest assured that this will not happen again. I hope that one of these days you will give our Corned Beef Sinigang another chance – usually our guests report that it is fork-tender and flavorful. I’m still mortified that it was not so when you visited our restaurant.

        Thank you again and have a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

Thank you for your comments!