CELEBRATORY FEAST : GABBY’S EIGHTH BIRTHDAY

It was already late evening of Friday, October 5th, 2012 when I got a chance to view the attached photos on my Inbox sent by Gabby’s teacher & school owner taken using her iphone. I smiled and I appreciated the concern, love and care expressed to our son by his generous and thoughtful Malaysian-Chinese teacher. Thank you so much, Ms. Jasmine! The photos showed Gabby and his teacher’s son eating burgers and fries in McDonald’s after school; a simple birthday treat yet so special to Gabby and to us!  Tina and I really found it so heartwarming!

OUR SON IS LOVED; WE’RE GRATEFUL! 🙂

gabby and ethan

Because his birthday falls on a weekday this year, Friday to be exact, we chose not to absent ourselves from work and school thus, another extraordinary weekend was brewed.

Little did we know that Gabby told his teacher the reason why he’s not having  that ceremonial birthday cake candle blowing over the usual birthday song singing with party hats, some pasta and loot bags in school like what he used to have back home (If you’ve been following this blog, you’re familiar with Gabby’s SPONGEBOB THEMED 5TH BIRTHDAY PARTY ) it’s because we planned to celebrate his 8th birthday the way we know how : BUFFET!!! 🙂

Long before his big day, we already talked and decided where to spend it; and among the hotels and restaurants we’ve tried, a unanimous decision was made : G Hotel at Gurney Drive, Penang!

ANS_8373
ANS_8485ANS_8370

UNBIASED OPINION OF A NON-SPONSORED DINING

Among the few premier hotels and restaurants in Penang that my family and I have sampled, G Cafe in G Hotel has always been remarkably pleasant. We like its polite and quick service, great tasting dishes with a wide variety but not overwhelming, and its contemporary and edgy, elegant and sophisticated but non-intimidating ambiance. Not to forget its reasonable and affordable cost for an eat-all-you-want dining on lunch, high tea or dinner. They even made it more budget-friendly as we availed of the 15% discount offer that we got for being Rapid Penang Bus commuters. 🙂 Best of all, G Cafe staff granted my request for a FREE birthday cake with a candle to blow for Gabby! They gave an instant nod without hesitation; many thanks to that! 😀

There are other restaurants inside G Hotel and at G Cafe, there are two dining spots. It’s our third time to eat inside G Cafe’s airconditioned dining area and have not favored yet their open-air eating space.

So here’s where we sat and dined…
ANS_8377

And here’s a portion of their eat-all-you-want-spread that evening…
ANS_8405
I like their simple and minimalist display and fixtures that perfectly complemented the modern and somewhat masculine appeal of the entire all-day-dining-restaurant. I also think the use of BLUE tones in lighting and glasses excellent! It’s quite uncommon choice for restaurants yet so regal.

g cafe g hotel penang malaysia
G Cafe offers different themed dining every night and it was our second time to try their International Cuisine-BARBECUE NIGHT!
grilled prawns and meat g cafe g hotel penang
There were grilled prawns, grilled lamb, grilled fish, and grilled squid…
grilled goodies 2

Roasted lamb, anyone?
roasted lamb g cafe g hotel penang
Tina and I tried a few slices from the carving station but honestly, we’re not fanatics of lamb unlike the others despite G Cafe’s version was tender.

Usually, it’s a toss between salad and soup for me, I went for the latter first and enjoyed every spoonful of sweet corn and chicken soup! It was thick and superb! Really tasteful!

soup

But then again, I thought I am just a mere mortal and very weak to pass up on these yummies! Tee hee!
ANS_8420
I did not! We did not pass up on the salads. We had a little bit of everything!
ANS_8422

We liked the Smoked Duck Salad even though I was telling Tina how I missed G Cafe’s Prawn Salad (told you, they’ve variety every night!), the fusion of the smoked duck meat cut into strips and those mango and veggies in julienne cuts were an absolute match made in Penang! 😉

How about Smoked Salmon Salad that beautifully blended with those avocado cubes?
ANS_8414
Irresistible! Then you see more Hors d’oeuvre like different chunks and slices of cheese and biscuits…
ANS_8402
And then there’s this crunchy and sweet and a bit spicy dried fish called IKAN BILIS ISTIMEWA which to me was one of the most appetizing appetizers I’ve ever tasted! Or is it an entree? Hahaha!  FYI, istimewa means special!  It reminded me of  a locally dried fish back home called, Danggit, although it’s all salty and crunchy when fried, this Ikan Bilis Istimewa came with flavors and texture that burst every bite! Sarap! Sedap! It’s really something you’ll crave for! Delicious sans vinegar! I wish I had more servings!
ANS_8419

Meanwhile, here’s my salad plate…
ANS_8483
Tina’s seafood plate…
ANS_8444

Everything was fine particularly the salmon sashimi except for the scallops; they were flat and disappointing!
sushi and seafoods

While the birthday boy was certain of his choices…
ANS_8478
Our palates savored the sushi rolls too! I always profess my fascination to Japanese dishes. It’s amazing that they’re both art and nourishment at the same time! My love affair with sushi and sashimi makes me wonder if I’m half blood Japanese, hahaha!
sushi 1
sushi 4
sushi 2
sushi 3
Tina tried the Chicken Shawarma and Roasted Lamb. I tasted their version of Shawarma before and it didn’t impress my tastebuds. I’m still partial with similar Mediterranean favorite back home.
lamb and chicken shawarma
Tina’s plate filled with grilled stuffs…
grilled goodies 1
And here are my plates…
grilled goodies
ANS_8508

There were a lot more dishes on the spread and a noodle station that we failed to sample. Nonetheless, we made sure we reserved gastric space for desserts.

HYPERGLYCEMIA  : REDEFINED

desserts 0

In our third time to dine at G Cafe in G Hotel in our more than two years of being expatriates in Penang, we’re loving the fact that we have experienced the evolution of dessert offerings. Let the photos do the talking. Sweet, sweeter, sweetest! 😀

desserts 8
desserts 9
desserts baskin robbins
Who knew my family and I could enjoy an eat-all-you-want Baskin Robbins ice cream? I don’t know about you, but for jologs like me, it’s a big deal already! A BIG PLUS for this buffet actually! 😉
So my sweet tooth became happier again with every scoop of Baskin Robbins included in the buffet spread. I had Mint Chocolate Chip and Vanilla which are two of my favorite flavors, I also had Strawberry Sherbet and Green Tea. I was content with just the scoops sans toppings and syrups. I’m a purist when it comes to ice cream or at least in this occasion.
desserts g cafe g hotel penang baskin robbins
While Tina was in bliss with her gummies toppings over her Baskin Robbins…
desserts g cafe g hotel penang baskin robbins 1
I wish all the sweets in the dessert spread had labels. Because there were none, I relied on my gustatory skills. These bite-sized cakes that tasted peanut butter at its creamiest earned my thumbs up!
desserts 10
Another must-try at G Cafe’s dessert spread is this beautiful pastry. Believe it or not, the filling inside those dark chocolate cream icings is a tiny strawberry –just imagine the tug-o-war of bitter-sweet taste of the dark chocolate against the sour-sweet taste of strawberry. The combination’s brilliant! Then each was sandwiched by a light chocolate meringue. Wonderful! The toothsome flavors and luxurious textures were so amazing! I’ll bring back my family there for these!
desserts 5
How about a munch-all-you-want macarons? Heavenly. Just heavenly.
desserts 3
The birthday boy loves cheesecake…We all do!
desserts 4
Mini Cupcakes, FTW!
desserts 6
I’m now lost for superlatives to describe these…*drooling*
desserts 7
desserts 2
desserts 1
One of Tina’s dessert plates… yes, one of them! 🙂
desserts g cafe g hotel penang 2
While here’s a shameless display of mine…
desserts g cafe g hotel penang 1
After a great and hearty meal, must have coffee.
coffee
And before you forget it’s Gabby’s 8th birthday celebration, here’s the documentation of that special moment…
ANS_8563
ANS_8565
ANS_8581
ANS_8583
G Cafe at G Hotel became uberly generous again in granting my request to provide a FREE birthday cake with a candle for Gabby to blow. Thank you so much, G Cafe! …And just so you know, Gabby held the bread knife to slice his birthday cake just like a CIRUJANO would do an incision; we didn’t coach him to do so. 🙂
ANS_8590
The necessary family portrait…
ANS_8604
ANS_8606
ANS_8610
2
Happy 8th Birthday, son! WE LOVE YOU VERY MUCH!

___________________

*This is NOT a sponsored post for G Cafe at G Hotel, Penang. We wish! 😀

 

28 thoughts on “CELEBRATORY FEAST : GABBY’S EIGHTH BIRTHDAY

  1. Wow, was that a complete meal or what! There’s that ice cream again! lol…You have beautiful dessert photos. I think I would love the lamb and salmon salad the most! => happy birthday to the little one!

  2. Wow, it reminded me of our last food trip in Coffee Terrace in Genting highlands. The grilled seafoods, the fresh veggies, a lot choices of japanese food. Once we drop Penang, we’ll surely visit G Cafe at G Hotel.

    And Happy birthday again to Gabby! 🙂

      1. Thanks Doc Gelo, will try to go this month. Tempting yung Buy 1 Get 1 Free Buffet Dinner nila on Mondays and Wednesdays for this month. hehe. May work lang.

        1. oh yes, they do have that offer! however, like you, we have work and our work place is so far from gurney kaya weekends lang ang availability. let me know if you have tried g cafe and your say err, taste about it. thanks!

    1. hi maria! you didn’t miss it; i did not metion the cost on the post. it’s 98 ringgit ++ per pax or US$ 32++per pax; children 1-6 y/o eat free, while 7-12 eat half the price. we got 15% discount from being bus commuters and a free birthday cake upon request. 🙂

  3. Hindi naman halatang masayang-masaya si birthday boy sa treat ninyo sa kaniya hehehe.

    Belated happy birthday kay cute na cute na Gab na sarap pistil-pisilin ang cheeks haha!

  4. I would love to go with you when I am on a diet and wants to be gustatorily tortured. Happy birthday Gabby, you probably do not know yet but you have the greatest parents you can ever have in your life, bar none.

    1. I’ll let you know if and when we find a chance in this lifetime to go back to California (or any part of the globe you’re cruisin’) and I’ll invite you to a digestive feast. On one condition, it should be your treat! *biro lang po!*

      Thanks for the kind words, bert! 🙂

  5. .. i can smell those grilled seafood from here! hehe. gab’s growing fast! tell him he will have his gifts from ninong early next year when i visit back. 😀

    1. honestly, ninong rob, your inaanak told me when i read your message to him, he’s excited to receive a separate late birthday & christmas gifts from you, hahahaha!
      manang mana sa ama! we love presents (but not surprises) 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

