PETROSAINS

Christmas 2012 Blog Series includes :

 

>><<

They called this Personnel Basket Transfer, used to transfer a worker to and from a crew boat or supply boat to a jackup rig, offshore platform, semi-submersible or other structures. When I saw this, I remember one of Gabby’s godparents’ photo (Rob’s) shot when he was swinging with similar structure while at work on a rig in Middle East. This and a lot more are showcased in Petrosains in KLCC-Suria Shopping Complex.

Untitled

23 December 2012. Sunday. Petrosains, 4th level KLCC-Suria Shopping Complex. Two days before Christmas, Tina and I brought Gabby to this Science museum in Kuala Lumpur. It felt like we went to an educational field trip again! While  Gabby tried to enjoy and interact with every display and features, Tina and I honestly felt Petrosains is “too-kiddie” but of course, nothing’s wrong with that. In fact it simplified Science and some concepts of Oil mining for children to appreciate and absorb quite easily however, we felt something lacking. It’s either we expected too much or we’ve seen a lot better Science museums back home. Perhaps both. Or probably, it’s just us. To each his own of course. 🙂

KLCC-Suria Shopping Complex this festive holiday season has simple Christmas decors. Compared to other malls in Kuala Lumpur, they opted to keep it low.

petrosains @ docgelo.com

At its 4th level is Petrosains. Long queue when we arrived at around few minutes before 12noon. Thankfully, I didn’t need to wait and stand on the line to purchase our tickets because I was ushered promptly upon asking to the lane for those who have reservations online or via phone. I did ours through phone call. I paid RM50 (PhP 700) for a family package that included tickets for the 3 of us. Not bad compared to tickets to Science museums in Manila (but I know, you get what you paid for, right?). Despite its affordability, the cost (of almost all entrance rates to anything in Malaysia) for non-Malaysians/tourists is always more expensive than locals. In my honest opinion, this draws tourism farther rather than being attractive. Again, this is only my two-cents-worth. 🙂

petrosains @ docgelo.com

It was high noon, must have lunch. Gabby spotted his favorite amongst the kiosks in food gallery at the same level of the mall, hence we gave in. Pepper Lunch is a family’s favorite! We always crave for this DIY-affordable steak-rice meals for we don’t have it in our current home base in Penang. Hmmmm. Yummy!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Oops, but the Malaysian food crew who prepared it must have enjoyed seasoning it with LOTSA PEPPER! Just because it’s Pepper Lunch doesn’t mean it’ll be pepper all over. Believe me, we’ve tasted its versions in Manila, Makati, Hong Kong, Singapore and even in the other branch in Kuala Lumpur which is in Pavilion Mall -it’s not supposed to be that hot! I should’ve instructed him to prepare our hot plates NOT TOO SPICY.  Result : Gabby didn’t finish his Pepper Lunch Beef Pepper Rice plate for the first time. Oh well. 😦

petrosains @ docgelo.com

After lunch, back to Petrosains. There are free lockers at the entrance to store backpacks, shopping bags, food and drinks that are not allowed inside. Cameras are OK to bring. Excitement to experience this Science Museum diminished when we needed to wait for more than 30 minutes to go in. C’mmon, I didn’t go on queue because I had reservations online but still… Fine. We’re left no option but to wait for our turn, smile while killing time.

petrosains @ docgelo.co

It took us almost forever to take the Dark Ride. Relax, relax lang! *sigh*

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Then when we hopped on this wheeled semi-spherical black thingie that rolls passengers up and back and down and up while holograms and film projections about environment and oil and Malaysian people are shown, it took another 15 minutes for it to shuttle us to the main Petrosains Exhibit halls. OK. At this early, Tina and I therefore conclude, Petrosains is good just for once. There you go!

Untitled

Finally, the exhibit proper! First off, Gabby tried the Plasma Tube where a friendly staff explained to him how it works.

petrosains @ docgelo.com

As I understood it (I tried while capturing photos!), Gabby was asked to feel the tranfer of energy from the source to something that he was instructed to hold. End of story. Next : the making of a tornado. It looks more fun!

Untitled

Something like mechanism of a clock…
petrosains @ docgelo.com

My family and I love Malaysia’s very own, Wayang Kulit or shadow puppet! We even bought a Rama and Sita wayang from Kota Bharu in Kelantan a year ago. Glad we saw some on display in Petrosains. 🙂

petrosains @ docgelo.com

More modern shadow play…
petrosains @ docgelo.com

Moving on…”Selamat Datang” means Welcome! 🙂

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Waiting for teksi…
petrosains @ docgelo.com

Colorful backdrop…
petrosains @ docgelo.com

My photos are raw and I know nothing of photoshop. My captures are imperfect but I love this mirror-illusion image I took with my family. I think it’s amazing!
petrosains @ docgelo.com

Then the area became more interesting. Thank goodness!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Funny that Dino rapped (not sang) a lyrics in Bahasa Melayu. Fantastic!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Some things about the Earth – mountains, soil, mining and oil…

petrosains @ docgelo.com

I also liked this humongous magnifying lens where the fangs of a model-tiger project.

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Lava lava love!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

The Sparkz area incorporates interactive Science and playtime!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Cute play place. Cuter kids..

petrosains @ docgelo.com

The (helicopter) simulator that we didn’t try for a minimal fee of 3 ringgit each pax…

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Oil mining-thingies…

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Then Gabby dared to hold a fireball over a demonstration. His eyes said he was excited but his hands showed fear. Ok lang iyan, anak! It doesn’t make you less! Truth is, your curiosity rocks! 🙂 *Don’t try this at home, kids!*
petrosains @ docgelo.com

Another eye-catching display inside Petrosains…broom broom!!!
petrosains @ docgelo.com

Molecular churva -according to Tina…

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Was this 3D or 4D -15-minute-movie? I forgot, I’m sorry. What I remembered clearly was the fact that I felt asleep. Sorry, I came from a long journey. *pun intended* Dare I say, Petrosains should enhanced this little theater! This what happens when your patrons already experienced the ones in Disneyland and Universal Studios. Comparison kills! Truth is, mediocrity isn’t the way to attract customers! Must improved!

petrosains @ docgelo.com

Although the purpose of bringing Science and the oil industry to the young ones is apparent, people behind Petrosains must be reminded that Science is continuously evolving and so it follows that they should upgrade their displays with the times. It’s already the age of everything in command with a flick of a finger pad, isn’t it? And please, do something with the speed of flow of exit; even people who are not claustrophobic experienced the anxiety of being one. Thank you!

petrosains

_____________

15 thoughts on “PETROSAINS

  1. .. i have used that personnel basket many times doc, haha! so now you have an idea how an oil rig looks like! nothing that fascinating, but a place where safety should be a priority.

    1. Happy holidays from Chiang Mai, Gracious! Thanks for the greetings! And yes, I’m replying to your comment at inside a dorm room of a budget guesthouse here in Chiang Mai; will be back to Penang few days before the New Year! Happy 2013! May God bless us all!

  2. experiences like this can only enhance gabby’s desire to learn and travel. and we are treated to wonderful photos to make us salivate. happy new year doc. keep up the good work. all the best to the family.

    1. Thanks, Maria! Salamat sa compliment! However, I have to learn how to take photos from you! I don’t have technical know-how until now.
      Too lazy to learn, my bad! Actually too busy. Anyway, Good day from Chiang Mai! I’m having my very first solo-budget-backpacking tour as you may have known (and glimpsed at few photos I posted) from fb. Happy to experienced the hill tribes and so much more!

  3. I had a couple of occasions taking that personnel basket transfer often called an “E” ride here in Southern California. Believe me it is no fun, especially when the Santa Ana winds is blowing hard and you have a fear of height. I think on both occasions (going up the platform and coming down) I prayed to all the gods I know, even to the ones I didn’t, and I said to myself if this is somethjing I have to do on this job, they can take their job and shove it. This is no way to leave earth, I’d rather die of a heart attack with a blonde nymphomaniac making love to me LOL.

  4. I have ridden the personnel basket transfer (fondly called an “E” ride here in offshore California) on two occasions and believe me, it is no fun especially when the Sta. Ana winds is blowing hard and you have a fear of height. I said two occasions, one going up the platform and the second going down to the bobbing crew boat, and both times I prayed to all the gods I know, even to the ones I didn’t. Call me chicken but this is not my preferred way to exit the world, I’d rather die of a heart attack making love to a blonde nymphomaniac LOL.

    1. hi bert! i haven’t experienced that “E” ride but i just came home from chiang mai where i rode ox-cart, bamboo raft and elephant and boy that elephant ride was really something! blogging everything in a few weeks! must be the same feeling you got when you rode that basket transfer. and what a brilliant idea to die! i wish your wife’s busy and has not time to read this. hahaha! happy new year! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

