CHINAHOUSE

*Prelude : This experience totally changed my personal perception of GeorgeTown, Penang. In my more than two years of working in this side of Malaysia, I’ve only known her with volumes of Heritage corners that beautifully complemented her present image. Diversities of food, religions and culture made up my initial idea of this island. I was totally wrong in not thinking that she also has quaint chill out places that are equally enigmatic as her temples, mosques, shrines, beaches and hawker stalls and will leave anyone wanting for more. Read on and enjoy! 😀

20 October 2012, Saturday. Just before dusk, I entered The Canteen and Bar at ChinaHouse along Victoria Street in George Town, Penang and this quiet scene greeted me.

1 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Cluelessly, I asked the bartender for a menu. I scanned the modestly laminated list of beverages and bites for a second and was told that the show that Saturday evening starts around 9PM.  If you must know, I didn’t go there to drink nor to watch an act. Not yet. I had my personal intention with a secured green light from my beloved Tina and Gabby. It’s a must for me to get their nods, of course. I went there to TRY my CHANCE TO WIN A CONTEST. 😉

I inquired if it’s the same place where I can have cakes and coffee, the bartender politely advised me to follow the walkway through the doors to get to the ChinaHouse at Beach Street. Yes, ChinaHouse stretches from Victoria Street to Beach Street!

2 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I didn’t expect to be blown away with its rustic yet contemporary charm that’s uniquely, ChinaHouse.

3 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
6 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Few steps more and I caught myself smiling at this  black and white mural in the kitchen…
5 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
It’s right across one of the most attractive tandas (toilet) in this part of Asia…
4 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Then I found myself in the courtyard where I saw an unusual rectangular pond, a whimsical animal sculpture, garden steel chairs paired with glass round tables, all covered by lush leaves and leaning branches (I took a few photos but I chose to include in this post my captures in the courtyard later that weekend that you’ll see as you scroll down the page).

07 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Meanwhile, the ceiling’s high. Didn’t I tell you this is one of those pretty Heritage shophouses in Penang?

7 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Good to know ChinaHouse has a good number of staff to cover for the remarkable volume of diners. Lots of people flocking is a positive indicator that I’m in the right place. Despite almost all tables were reserved, I considered myself lucky to find one vacant.

This is the view from where I sat…
8 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Image of the bar reflected on one of the huge mirrors…

9 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

This must be Heaven, if not Nirvana…

10 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Diabetes Not Included.
11 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Those are Honey, Raisin & Sunflower Muffin at 6 ringgit a piece. I want! 🙂

I wonder what this Beef Harissa tastes like.
12 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
13 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I also want to try these Mini Lime Sponge Cakes next time; only 6 ringgit per piece with a huge serving!
14 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

The spread’s certainly a feast in either monochrome…
16 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

or in full colors! 😀

15 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

While my family and I still love Starbucks Coffee dearly, I asked myself silently, where was I in more than two years of work in Penang? Why didn’t I discover ChinaHouse early on? Regret is futile, I reckon. There’s more time to celebrate ChinaHouse!

17 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Standing in front of that sweet spread, I called a waiter and asked about their most-frequently-ordered dishes -from salad, entree to desserts. With wide array of choices, I needed to hear some recommendations. He walked me towards my table and provided me a menu. On my way to my seat, I saw these tables…
18 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
19  CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
Simply covered with mahjong paper, tables have craypass and crayons to stimulate creative juices to flow. It reminded me of American-themed restaurants back home, Burgoo & TGI Fridays (the latter has a branch in Penang, the former doesn’t have).
Back to my table…

20 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Shamelessly marked the spot…

at chinahouse penang malaysia

Indeed, “Thou shall not judge the book by its cover!” The menu is unassuming but the selections are a must-try. Prices are a bit steep expectedly; reasonable I say.
21 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Because I’m there to find GREAT FOOD AS SUBJECT, I decided to order a full course meal which I didn’t eat at all, except the main dish I had; everything I brought home to Tina and Gabby as takeaway. 🙂

To start off, I had Grilled Prawns, Mango & Avocado Salad with Pistachio & Basil Dressing. Textures and flavors made a cut from the other salads I’ve tasted. It reminded me of one of my favorites back home, Tessie Tomas Salad.

23 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

For the main entree, I followed the wait staff’s suggestion to order Chicken and Mushroom Pie with Mashed Potato & Mixed Leaves.
24 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

It’s delicious I left the plate so clean. 🙂 If you’re from the Philippines, you’ll agree with me in stating that it looks like French Baker’s Chicken Ala-King less the creamy sauce.

25 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I washed down everything with Iced Cappuccino and a bottle of water. Literally on a bottle, mind you! I like the idea of serving every table with water on capped bottle.

22 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Once again, I trusted the waiter’s words after he said Tiramisu is their bestseller-dessert. Believe it or not, I just took few photos of it, waived to another waitress and requested her to wrap the huge slice of Tiramisu as my takeaway. At home, Gabby and Tina liked it! 😀 Although, I think it’s best eaten freshly served because it has ice-creamy filling that melts easily. The tug-of-war of coffee and chocolate in this nutty slice was just divine.

26 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

After my lone but happy dinner, I was a bit disappointed when I learned that I cannot explore the art gallery upstairs because according to the staff, it’s currently under renovation. Well, that’s a good reason to go back, isn’t it? Thus, I settled capturing my fancy on the ground floor; here are some of them :

28 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
Fusion of the old world and modern isn’t only obvious on ChinaHouse menu but also in its eclectic combination of furnitures, murals and art pieces that absolutely delight the senses. Some paintings are simply displayed on the floor which I really like!

27 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
29 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
30 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

A coffee shop, a restaurant, a bar, a mini-theater, a bakeshop, an art gallery , a souvenir shop and a library. What more can you ask for?

31 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

And a wine cellar too! 😀

32 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I don’t know about you but I find this room gorgeous. With all the wine collection and those imperfect blending of seats appeal perfect to me! Would you not wish to spend a a non-stress and worry-free evening here?

33 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
34 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
35 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
36 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
37 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

There are a quite a number of fascinating rooms in ChinaHouse that’s so apt for private and intimate special occasions. I’ll surely visit again to explore more of its areas.

I decided to go back to The Canteen & Bar and passed through their courtyard again. It began to drizzle that made those lovely corners that night even more dramatic. I wish I stayed longer.

38 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
39 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
40 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
41 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
42 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I could have opted to submit the next photo to the ChinaHouse Shoot & Win photo contest that offers two winning photographers 200 ringgit voucher to ChinaHouse AND  a FREE accomodation in Bon Ton Resort, Langkawi which I long to experience with my family; however, after checking out the other entries from ChinaHouse facebook page, someone had photographed and entered this spot as his subject already. I cannot blame him; this courtyard is indeed eye-catching! Nonetheless, I had to have my own capture of that courtyard in my own perspective. What do you think? 😉

43  CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

When I went back to The Canteen & Bar again, a musician was entertaining the diners.

44 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
47 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
46 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA
45 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

I fell in love with ChinaHouse!!! I shall be back to bring Tina and Gabby here soon! It’s an incredibly stylish and laid-back place where ambience and atmosphere, must-try-menu, quick and efficient service are all under one Heritage roof.

Admittedly at first, I only wanted to join this…

48 CHINAHOUSE PENANG MALAYSIA

Then the entire experience left me in awe, I hope to go back soon! It’s irresistible to revisit ChinaHouse after you’ve been there. Once is definitely not enough; it lures and entices you to crave for more!

The contest I joined, as of this posting is still on going but with what I’ve experienced in ChinaHouse,

I felt I already won! 😀

About my photo entry –I chose a photo of a SALAD as my entry to the contest as I thought it represents a great INTRODUCTION to a SUBLIME INDULGENCE inside ChinaHouse. I thought of promoting ChinaHouse through that entry as a uniquely charming food and chill out place tucked within GeorgeTown, Penang.

*Should you want to VOTE for my entry in ChinaHouse Shoot & Win contest, you may click LIKE my photo on this link –>

photo.php?fbid=369418356479284&set=a.367164853371301.89814.172393032848485&type=1&theater

THANK YOU!

Maraming salamat po!

Terima Kasih!

Xie xie!  😀

CHINAHOUSE | 153 & 155 Beach Street & 183B Victoria Street, George Town, Penang.  http://chinahouse.com.my/

30 thoughts on “CHINAHOUSE

    1. it’s only a wonderful discovery by chance, elmer. thanks!
      and in manila? i believe we have more quaint places out there, although i still have to explore them too in time. 🙂

  1. OH WOW! What a great find. I love every nook and cranny…and the food…and the cake…and the wine…I could go on and on and on…yet I haven’t been there. Thank you for this. My kind of place, really!

  2. That’s a place you can spend your whole day at – brekkie, lunch and dinner including happy hour. I do hope they carry California wines in their selection.

    The cakes are mouth-watering.

  3. wow. never read a food/restaurant post when you haven’t eaten! hahaha, I want to go out to grab something to eat now. haha
    great article and photos of Chinahouse, doc! I hope you win! 🙂

    1. thanks, edcel! and i’m flattered you dropped by here!
      i’m following your chiang mai post in fb, must hop on your blog soon. i want to go to chiang mai too! 😉

  4. I will wear my elastic pants, hahaha! Voted (like) sa FB.

    P.S. I remember your post about the ham from the US. I did that once, and I wont do it again, ngayon pa 50 pounds na lang ang bagahe.

  5. Brilliant prize for fabulous pics and blogging. I love checking out the places you have been when we are on holidays. Your blog on Kota Bharu was the deciding factor in visiting there and now have a stack of ideas for Penang – including China House of course.

    1. Hello Yvette! Wow, thank you so much! Those kind and sweet words from readers like you seem like a fuel to me to continue the passion. I really appreciate it; thank you again! You’ll certainly enjoy Penang if you love heritage, culture, tradition, diversities, food fused into one lovable city 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

