RANDOM THOUGHTS : FIRST OF JUNE

En route to one part of the island, I captured this advertisement mounted on grab handles in a commuter bus that Tina and I ride daily, the Rapid Penang Bus. It says EAT. PLAY. LOVE. For a moment, it made me wonder whatever happend to PRAY? I answered my own query in thinking that Straits Quay is one of those premiere residences in Penang with luxurious restaurants fronting the sea and not a place of worship. Although, for most of us, we can pray regardless where we are, still it’s a mall and hangout place. We’ve been there once; savored coffee and pastries at Charlie Brown Cafe and we wish to go back whenever we find a chance. I digress.  The tagline of the ad (as well as the title of the movie-novel where it was inspired) made me think if anyone could still complain of a routinary life when all you do is EAT PLAY PRAY LOVE?  One must be so content with life with such limited verbs to do and must be so happy to forget about WORK, PAY BILLS, WORK.

As a young family man in the middle of his 30s, I want to devote more quality time with my family, I still need to do more things, I aspire to go to places I’ve never been to, I need to find a more fertile ground where I and my family could grow best and where better opportunity awaits.

When I’m not satisfied with how things are, it doesn’t follow that I am ungrateful to whatever blessings I receive. It only means I yearn for better things.

When I don’t want to settle for something mediocre, it doesn’t follow that I am arrogant and hard to please. It only means I understand that quality should never be compromised at all times.

Whenever I am anticipating something that’s life-changing and the opposite happens, I remind myself not to dwell in despair.

Now that there are chances to improve life again, I’m constantly keeping my spirit up and hopes high.

My family and I lift everything to the Lord! He knows best for all of us.

And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because He has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.” ~Romans 5:5.

I deserve need something greater.

And I know best things happen in His time.

“For I know the plans   I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper   you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” ~Jeremiah 29:11.

12 thoughts on “RANDOM THOUGHTS : FIRST OF JUNE

  1. we all yearn for something better–for our family, our country, ourselves. some days, we are content but at the back of our minds, we know that things can be better. i tend to get impatient, worry, then argue with myself until i exhaust myself to sleep. but the next morning, i know it’s another opportunity for me to “get there”—wherever it is.:p sabi nga sa desiderata–be patient, strive to be happy.:p

    1. i believe as mortals, we could never be content and would have always that eagerness to strive to do more and acquire more (not of tangible things but experiences, achievements, skills, knowledge) for the betterment of ourselves, our family, eventually our country. it’s not being greedy but striving and aiming for improvement and excellence.

      one becomes stagnant and apathetic if he remains content with everything.

      thank you for reminding me about desiderata.
      i cannot agree more. i need to be more patient and strive hard to be happy. 🙂

      luna, maraming salamat for sharing your thoughts!
      i really appreciate it.
      happy weekend po!

    1. thank you, nelson!

      the same goes to you. you’ve been working so hard as nurse in uae for your family.
      you deserve nothing but the best life has to offer.

      God bless. 🙂

  2. i think everything happens in God’s time. we all strive for the next best thing for us and for our family and sometimes our country as a consequence of that.

    i believe we’re all just waiting for the door of opportunity to become open, then we’re ready for what’s store for us. i hope you’re telling us that you are getting calls to greener pastures 🙂

    1. i thought so too, maria.

      we can only try, try and try our very best to be at best at all times.
      however, sometimes our plans don’t go with His.
      and we all think the Lord’s plans are far greater than what we could imagine.
      so we just do our part and go wherever the wind blows.

      i myself didn’t plan to work in malaysia; i never had this country in mind.
      but things do happen for a reason.
      and we cannot help but to remain faithful and grateful for everything.
      however, we need to keep away from being stagnant and content with everything.
      not to be drowned with all life’s hassles.

      whether the door of a new opportunity opens or not,
      what matters most is to try to grab the greater chances that come my way.
      i need to wait and be patient and to strive harder and keep moving forward.

      maraming salamat for sharing your insights!

      God bless.

  3. “My family and I lift everything to the Lord! He knows best for all of us”

    Amen to what you said Doc.

    God has His right timing in everything. I too hold on his promises.

  4. How I wish I can just do eat, play, pray, love and forget work, pay bills, work, at my age of soon to be 60, Keep on working practice my profession is what I am asking from GOD to give me strength to complete my dream.

Thank you for your comments!

