BEST THINGS IN LIFE ARE FREE!

at CBTL, Queensbay Mall, Penang Island, 25 September 2010

23 September 2010, Saturday –Weekend is the only time we get to unwind from our daily schedule and do things to keep our expats’ minds perfectly sane and  in full control of everything despite our my homesickness…

For more than 7 hours, I and my housemates (who happen to be my colleagues & friends too) enjoyed FREE wifi, electricity, working spaces and yes, even cups of iced water at Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf at Queensbay Mall, Penang Island.

Believe it or now, it was the first and longest time  I stayed in a coffee shop where I chanced upon talking to Gabby and Tina via Skype and got to do other stuff over the net at no expense!  *homesickness for the day remedied!*

Before having our dinner at the mall, I only had CBTL’s large Double Chocolate Iced Blended Coffee in the afternoon and the rest was for free!  I have my own broadband plug-in but who needs it in a public place where free wifi is so accessible. 😀

Indeed, the best things in life are free! 😀

How was your weekend? Did you get any freebies recently?

Have a great new days ahead!

16 thoughts on “BEST THINGS IN LIFE ARE FREE!

  1. There’s a lot of free Wifi in Manhattan too, including the parks which I really like as I could spend an entire day there under the trees when the weather is great (like today!).

    Good for you Doc Gelo, the time difference between Malaysia and the Philippines isn’t so vast so you could do your Skype sessions in mutually favorable fashion.

    1. how i wish the ENTIRE manila (or wishful thinking, the entire pinas) and penang are wifi-zones too or at least most public parts would have free net access like parks there in NYC, dennis.

      actually, pinas and malaysia have no time difference at all; not even a minute. it definitely works well with my communication with my family. 🙂

  2. Today was free Museum day in the US, you could chose at one museum to visit nationwide. This is something I won’t be able to pass up.

    Great to know you had a good weekend. 🙂

  3. that definitely can count as one of the best weekends there doc. ganda pala ng laptop mo.

    my weekend. i just slept the whole day yesterday. today… maybe another round of sleep. napagod sa byahe sa japan.

    1. i personally love being lazy during weekends, dom! but i didn’t let myself to be alone at our penthouse yesterday while my housemates were malling; so we all trooped to queensbay mall and spent the afternoon with free wifi, free charging, free airconditioning, haha! …maganda laptop ko? nah, it’s only dell far from those high-end “mansanas” hehehe… but it can address my few needs on line for work and blogging; ok na yun, solb na! i wish i can buy a smaller notebook; this one’s a 15″ quite heavy one compared to others.

      how’s your trip? bet you enjoyed it so much. we’ll wait for your tokyo series! that’s definitely exciting to follow!

  4. doc gelo, it’s been a while! tagal ko na di nakita sa gab. hehe
    anyway, sir i launched an advocacy in my blog called Project Headshot: R.A.W. i hope that you could find time to check it out and perhaps join in the advocacy and spearhead it here in your blog where it could reach even more people. salamat po!

  5. I wish we had more free wifi zones in Manila.
    Anyway… we should be thankful that we have the internet…skype, etc. nowadays.
    Imagine that all this was impossible not so long ago.
    When I was a kid…even a pocket calculator was a rarity ! :-0
    Yes…I am that old ! 😉

Thank you for your comments!

