SMALL CITY, BIG DREAMS, GREAT FOOD!

Bangkok, Hong Kong, Bandar Seri Begawan and lately, Tokyo.

These are the few Asian cities  that I have set my foot from Manila to date.  And there is more of Asia to explore and enjoy.

For one, I wish to bring my family to SINGAPORE to experience what most tourists have been raving about.  I’ve heard and read so much about that enticing city and who would resist to be lured with its charm and beauty?

Incidentally, I was fortunate to be invited as one of the very few selected bloggers who sat with people who best represent Singapore. They’re Ms. Lynelle Seow, Area Director for Philippines and Brunei of Singapore Tourism Board and Mr. Lee Puay York, Head for Southeast Asia of Contact Singapore (photos of speakers below).

The fascinating talk was held at the Abueva Room of Heritage Hotel in Pasay City last Friday, 16 July, 2010.

Contact Singapore is an agency of the Singapore government that aims to boost the country’s economy by attracting people from around the world to live, work and play in this country.  It is the one-stop center for those who wish to pursue a fulfilling life, career and adventure in Singapore.

YourSingapore.com is Singapore’s destination brand that showcases Singapore’s uniqueness and offers travelers a personalized travel experience.

The Singapore Tourism Board is an economic development agency for one of Singapore’s key service sectors – tourism. The mission of the Board is to develop and champion tourism, so as to build the sector into a key driver of economic growth for Singapore”

As you may know, Singapore is rich in culture, heritage and opportunities. The small but global city and as a country itself takes pride in offering a progressive and comfortable lifestyle for everyone who wants to WORK,  LIVE and  PLAY IN.

Singapore’s constant innovation on almost everything opens door for professionals from other countries like ours, who may easily find a work venue in its more than 7,000 multinational companies that operate on highly in-demand and lucrative careers in technology, manufacturing, research, electronics, chemicals, biomedical sciences, infocomms, digital media, engineering, transportation and financial services.

With the affordable airfares that most carriers offer, Asia has become a smaller community.  This makes Singapore as a tourist destination more accessible to people who want to visit and enjoy its famous and newest attractions and recreations.

Hopefully soon, I get to bring my wife and our preschooler son to Sentosa, Universal Studios and other exciting sites to experience a slice of what Singapore has been known for.

Of course, Singapore’s multicultural society is so apparent not only on its people and places but moreso on its food.

And during the Bloggers’ Event that I have attended, Heritage Hotel which is a Singaporean Hotel in Manila, prepared wonderful dishes that delighted our senses.

Take a peek at what we savored from the event….

SINGAPORE  SLAW. This was so far, the most beautiful salad I’ve ever had. The fusion of textures and tastes was gorgeously plated and was perfectly paired with its dressing.

NYONYA  MEATBALL  SOUP (Bawan Kepeting).

SINGAPORE  LAKSA and MEE  GORENG. Heritage Hotel’s Laksa was one of the few I’ve tasted in the Metro that stimulated my palate well;  Mee Goreng also doesn’t disappoint.  Wonderful pair!

HAINANESE  CHICKEN  RICE. The most beautiful custom-made plate I’ve ever seen.  Delicious serving!

SAGO GULA MELAKA with VANILLA ICE CREAM. Our sweet ending.

These and more are featured in the 2010 Singapore Food Festival that runs from 16 July to 25, 2010.

“At the SFF, visitors from the Philippines can expect to taste flavors they already love about Singapore such as Hainanese Chicken Rice and get a chance to fall in love with new ones, all in one festival. With so much feasting and fun in store, my advice is to leave the diet plan at home and indulge those cravings in Singapore” said Lynelle Seow, Area Director-Philippines, Singapore Tourism Board.

“Through SFF, Singapore enhances its identity as a true melting pot of cultures and as a destination that has something to offer many different nationalities. Fringe activities will also serve up ethnic Malay and Indian dishes, allowing Filipinos to enjoy the true ‘taste’ of Singapore,” added Seow.”

——————<@

For readers who have experienced Singapore, what’s your favorite food you’ve tasted there and what are your most memorable moments in the City of Merlion?

For more details on the upcoming events in Singapore, visit my other blog, DOCGELO’S EYES

30 thoughts on “SMALL CITY, BIG DREAMS, GREAT FOOD!

  1. i like singapore. i think it’s a good place to raise a family. though honestly, i would still prefer the phils. nothing beats raising a family at home. 😀

    sandali, ang layo ng topic ko ah. hahaha… masaya nga sa singapore. wala pang universal studios when i was last there. though i suggest doc to wait for the completion of that park before you go.

    singaporean food? i’m not a food enthusiast, if there’s such a term. lol. but i do remember eating some raw food that they served in a famous market area. parang exotioc food…and i remember tasting their milk-tea. everyone’s raving about it. 🙂

    that’s all! goodluck on your plans.

    1. thanks,reena.
      i’ve been to universal studios in LA but that was years ago.
      surely, i’d like to bring my family to Singapore particularly Universal Studios and their other tourists attractions.

  2. i haven’t been to Singapore and that is one place i wish to visit this year (hopefully aside from hongkong & macau). Though, there is one singapore food i like and that is kopi Roti hehehe.

  3. Wow, galing mo naman doc, what a nice blogger’s event. I’ve been to Singapore last year but I never tried the Singaporean food hehehe and I had bad experience with the Singaporean they’re very rude they treat all Filipinos as DH, they’re discriminating Filipinos there. Maybe I get used to the Japanese people here who are very polite and respectful. But I enjoyed visiting the Merlion and Singapore Flyer (ferris wheel). My Kuya who works there as engineer brought me to Sentosa and had a great time taking pictures of their model (they hired a model to take pictures of her, that’s my Kuya’s hobby hehehe). One more, it’s hotter there than Pinas!! Grabe!

    1. hello sards, i’ve got 2 more bloggers’ events to attend before my flight to my new work place in penang thursday next week. i’m just savoring the days here.

      seriously, i guess what you experienced was an isolated case. i believe, there’s discrimination everywhere. even here in pinas. what matters most is how we deal with it.

      and yes, i heard it’s kinda warm in Sg also but it won’t set me back in bringing my family there someday 🙂

  4. Shame on me but I don’t remember having eaten any Singapore foods yet … pero teka, counted ba yong Singapore sling drink? 😉 …love that one!

  5. Hi Doc! My bf and I went to Singapore 2 years ago, and it was one whole week of awesome food tripping! We loved the food there: char kway teow, hokkien mee, bak kut teh, satay, cendol, ais kacang, kaya, etc… and the $1 ice cream! I wrote a blog entry about it:

    http://deaguwapa.com/singapore-food-very-good-lah/

    Too bad we weren’t able to try the famous chili crab, we’ll make sure to try it when we go back next year! I love Singapore!

  6. sarap naman ng food! yeah! 🙂

    pero alam mo docgelo, the best food in singapore are those sa hawkers, not so much in those fancy restaurants.

  7. Singapore is always a nice place to visit. (I would know; I spent the first few years of my life there!) And the food is always fabulous: go try the char kway teow and roti canai with a cup of teh tarik when you head over there, doc. 😀

    Oh, and while it’s sad to hear that you’re leaving the country, I hope that you find success wherever it is you’re going. God bless you, Tina, and Gabby. 🙂

    1. lucky you, marga for experiencing Sg at an earlier age.
      that partly explains why you’ve developed the passion for food and food/chocolate appreciation.

      thanks for the sweet words.
      we need your prayers and well wishes. 🙂

  8. Singapore is really a surprise to me. It was a layover of sorts – four days. The city was hopping from all time of the day. I really love the food too. The weather not too much. I would love to be able to return someday.

  9. I’ve never been to Singapore, so I can’t comment on their food. And I’ve not seen nor heard of a Singaporean restaurant here in So. California. I heard, though, that Singapore is a nice place and very clean.

  10. oh you’ll love singapore. it’s a nice city but for my type i ‘d love to just drop by as there’s not much of an adventure. but still a great place that i love to go back.

  11. Great photos! The food definitely looked delicious and I am sure the hainanese was the best. At least that’s how I remember it when I used to eat meat.

    I’m sure it won’t be difficult for you to take your family to Singapore. When you do, you must visit Sentosa. Gabby will love every bit of it – especially the butterfly farm, the aquarium and perhaps the dolphins. Just avoid going in November and December as the heat may be unbearable.

    What are your plans for the weekend?

    Thanks for visiting Norwich Daily Photo and leaving your comment. Come visit again tomorrow!

Thank you for your comments!

