PARA SA NANAY KO

Whenever July ushers in, there’s only one simple celebration in our family that’s always anticipated; my mom’s birthday on the 15th. But sadly, she’s not with us again this year. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

My dear mom will celebrate her 58th birthday for the second time away from us. She’s in the Middle East, still maximizing her expertise in the field of management and accountancy that she has gained for more than 35 years and counting.

I miss her terribly.ย  Her pieces of advice on anything about life, particularly on doing what’s always right and prioritizing family above self, constantly serve as a guide not only to my family life but on my entire being.

She, other than my wife and son, gives me so much strength and inspiration to continue to struggle throughout life and hold on to hopes and keep our faith in God.

On one of her e-mails to us a few weeks back, she simply wondered ifย  by any chance, she’ll receive flowers again on her birthday this year. FYI, She usually gets a bouquet either from her sons (ehem, I’m the eldest and religiously try to give her one), from my dad who, one time gave her a simple 3-piece-roses bought from a street vendor or from her boss or gifts from friends and colleagues who value and love her the most.

She loves flowers from the tiniest bloom to even grass with colors. She likes her photos to be taken at almost any floral background she sees. ๐Ÿ˜€

And because she’s abroad, I thought that honoring her on my blog and sending this post’s URL to her on her special day will somehow make up for our lost time.

Mamy, since it’s useless to go to Dangwa in Manila to buy you a bunch for your birthday because you’re not here and you’re like a million miles away except when we’re on Skype; also, you know that sending you a bouquet via courier will cost me a fortune and could not afford at the moment, here are photos ofย  gorgeous arrangements I captured in a flower shop when I visited Shibuya, Tokyo few months ago.

It’s you whom I first thought when I saw these flowers because as you know, Tina prefers food more than twigs and petals, hehehe. ๐Ÿ™‚

I know you’ll like them even just on pictures;ย  anyway, ‘it’s the thought that counts,’ right? ๐Ÿ™‚

Mamy, I’d also like to thank you for all the love and support that you’re giving me and my family unconditionally.

I don’t think there’s a perfect woman to occupy the position of being a mom to all of us but you.

Always take care of yourself; take your medicines and multivitamins regularly and please do eat on time.ย ย  You know you won’t be productive and cannot think best if the tummy is empty. Drink liters of water to avoid dehydration in your place where 50 ‘C temperature is felt on a daily basis.

Whenever you feel home-sick, just close your eyes for a while, breathe and simply think of your 3 apos (read : 2 from my younger brother who’s a private pilot and of course, Gabby from Tina and I) and your 4 sons and Daddy of course, you know that we’re only a Skype and an e-mail or a text message away.

I’m so sorry for all our shortcomings.

We love you so much, Mamy Tessie!ย  Advance Happy birthday po. We miss you so much.

37 thoughts on “PARA SA NANAY KO

  1. oh, what sweet, loving post for your mom. i’m sure she will appreciate the thoughts. i believe it doesn’t take a lot to please our parents. and even when we’re not trying to please them and they see that we have a happy, productive life, masaya na sila.

    i love your flower shots–so vivid.:p

  2. A message to your mom;
    Hi po. Happy birthday po. I wish you more strenght and GOd Bless.

    @Doc
    This is a sweet post. I am so sure super miss na nya kayo ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. What a lovely post for Nanay! I can see her smiling reading this tribute, and even reading our comments!

    Happy Birthday to your Mom!

  4. ahhhh..thats sweet! (but you know i still have reservations when it comes to mothers)

    happy bday mami tessie!

  5. Such a sweet post from a loving son. She’ll be happy to see all the flowers you took for her. May she have a Happy and Blessed Birthday.

  6. Moms are the best gift God has given us. It is said that God could not be anywhere, so He made mothers. You have a beautiful heart docgelo, and your mom knows that. So for your mom, happy birthday and yes, you have captured the best flowers therein in the whole of Tokyo. Mamy Tessie, imported po yang flowers na yan, hehhe! hindi galing Dangwa!

    1. you put it into words so nicely sheng. i know you truly understand how to be a working mom and every sense of the word. thank you.
      …napangiti ako ng nabasa ko na imported nga ito, hindi bili sa dangwa. LOL! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. the benefit of the web world. we get to greet them online and now with great photos. your love for her reflects the love that you give to your family doc.

  8. I’ve been through many birthdays without the family as well but I’m glad there’s Skype to keep us really as close as possible – I just imagine as if I’m looking through a window.

Thank you for your comments!

