MASKLOPHOBIA

Some kids have unusual fear for mascots or anyone in costume or with mask, other children can’t even stand beside a clown. These illogical and strong fears fall under phobia specifically called :

Masklophobia – fear of mascots; 

Prosopeiophobia – fear of masks;

Coulorophobia – fear of clowns.

Good thing our son, Gabby doesn’t have it. 

Photos below were taken at Nickelodeon’s activity held in Bonifacio High Street two weeks ago and the last two pictures were taken in Eastwood City on the same day.

PHOBIA (from the Greek : φόβος,phóbos, meaning “fear” or “morbid fear”) is an irrational, intense and persistent fear of certain situations, activities, things, animals, or people. The main symptom of this disorder is the excessive and unreasonable desire to avoid the feared stimulus. When the fear is beyond one’s control, and if the fear is interfering with daily life, then a diagnosis under one of the anxiety disorders can be made.

Treatment options are not mutually exclusive. Often a therapist will suggest multiple treatments. Sourced via Wiki

Do you and/or your kids have phobia/s?   I do.  But not to the extent that I need Psychiatric help.

How do you deal with your own/your kids’  fear/s ?

Check here if you have one –>List of Phobia

18 thoughts on “MASKLOPHOBIA

  1. I’ve been to several children parties wherein the celebrant had an unstoppable tears as the mascot(s) approached him/her. Must be funny in the video as they will refer back to it when they’re grown-ups, but must be a little traumatic, too.

  2. Andami kaya niyan, yung takot sa mascots. I don’t understand why my 9-yr old son does not want to go to bday parties na merong clowns, ayaw na ayaw niyang may clowns. Until now, di namin mapilit pumunta sa party na may clowns. Di rin namin alam kung ang party ay may clown o wala, so almost always, he’ d rather stay home.

  3. I don’t have a child pa eh. ^^ But when I was a kid, if my memory serves me right, I’m not afraid of mascots or clowns. Actually, i love them. But my sis of mine, she has this phobia that really concerns us. Sobrang takot siya sa madilim esp. kapag nawawalan ng ilaw habang natutulog siya. Bigla na lang siyang tatayo na parang takot na takot or something. Para daw siyang hindi makahinga. So, she always has this small flashlight with her, wherever she go. Haha.

    Kewl ng blog mo. I hope you visit mine too doc!

  4. my kids used to have phobia too with the mascots but they overcame it, di na sila takot kasi malalaki na sila hehehe

    ako claustrophobic naman but I’m trying to overcome it, medyo ok-ok na ko, dati takot ako sa elevator ngayon ok na, unti-unti lang tinatry ko….meron pa dati akong takot sa….pero…..di ko na sasabihin hehehe secret na lang LOL

  5. masklophobia pala tawag jan.
    i saw pictures of me when I was young- nilalapit ako ni Mama sa mascot at ayun pumapalag ako. iyak galore ako. haha

    jusko naman kasi, sino hindi matatakot. abnormal yung laki ng ulo at mata nila. im so scared! haha

    1. lol thanks for making me laugh…kase parehong-pareho kayo ng sinabi ng daughter ko who is 5 years old and really scared of mascots…i really hope she overcomes it too just like you did…thanks for sharing

  6. Hi doc gelo! It’s nice to be able to visit your blog again! Anyway, after half a year of hiatus, I’m back! 🙂 Lookin forward to eharin from ya! xoxo Nurse Jess

  7. I have acrophobia. And I have wished to overcome this fear, especially I love landscapes. The beautiful ones are high up there. On a trip to Yosemite, I was 6 miles to the entrance, I made a u-turn.

    Very inspirational naman yung comments and praises. I try to write a post that would make my readers come back. And thanks for that. I have also revived my old blog.

  8. nung bata kami, takot din kami sa mga mascots. feeling ko kasi para kang kakainin ng buhay eh haha. si aleksei nung una takot kay jollibee tska kay pareng ronald. pero ayun lagi naman sya ineexpose dun kaya now eh slight nalang ang afraid nya hahaha!

  9. my son fears going to the doctors’ office (ironic ano?) any place thats new to him he freaks out, pero hes okay naman when he rides the elevator. he’s very wary of lizards, frogs and creepy crawly bugs.

    when he freaks out, we remove him from the place and pacify him by telling him that Mama and Dada will be by his side so there’s no need to fear/worry. 🙂

  10. i heard nga na there are kids who fears these mascots. actually a teacher told me na may natatakot kay jollibee kaya bawal sa ibang school ang mag bday party with mascots.

Thank you for your comments!

