OUR WEEKEND MOVIE

This late afternoon Tina, Gabby and I watched The Prince of Persia : The Sands of Time top billed by Jake Gyllenhaal (pronounced as Yillin-hoo-la-hey) at Eastwood City Cinema.

I don’t have idea about its video game but the movie adaptation is incredibly stunning!  At least it defines what entertainment is all about. Fast-paced action scenes, amazing production summarized in a ‘never a dull moment movie’. I disregarded the criticisms it received; for one they said that it should have starred an actor with color denoting its title and all other not-so-good reviews it got over the web.  I don’t know about you, but what we saw was a breathtaking movie from beginning to end.

“You have everything a man could  ever want -LOVE, FAMILY, RESPECT…”

Tina uttered, “Ang ganda, ano?” (referring to the movie) countless times on our way home.

I’m glad I waited on queue to buy tickets for 35 minutes while Tina and Gabby was munching NYFD fries and having Big Chill fruit shake (they combined mango+watermelon, sarap!). The effort and even the  ticket price of PhP 191 each were all worth it! 🙂

If you haven’t seen this movie yet, go watch it and kindly share your own views.

*UPDATE : After enjoying Prince of Persia last Saturday, this Monday afternoon, Tina and I gave in to Gabby’s request : to watch SHREK FOR EVER AFTER.

We watched it in TriNoma before we hit the grocery shelves of Landmark Supermarket. This third and final installment of the Shrek series had a lot of fun moments from that giant green ogre.  We had great laughs; amused with the characters and certainly liked the music as usual.

15 thoughts on “OUR WEEKEND MOVIE

  1. My bf and I watched this movie this afternoon too! I wasn’t really planning on watching this ‘coz it didn’t sound appealing to me despite good reviews.

    Anyway, we had nothing planned for the rest of the day so we watched this at SM. I’m surprised that it really entertained me. It had enough action and twists so it didn’t seem like a Disney movie. But also, because it was a Disney movie, it lacked the bloodiness that is part of the game (my bro was disappointed about this part haha…)

    All in all, it was a great movie. Worth the 180 pesos we paid. I’d actually watch it again, but not in the moviehouse though.

    Oh, and Yillin-hoo-la-hey sounds really difficult to pronounce. Pwede “gilenhall” na lang? hehehe…

    1. hey lainee, glad you liked the movie too! saya ano? 🙂

      it was tina who found the yahoo news video last week about jake’s interview with his surname’s proper pronounciation. he has sweddish origins.

      and yes, every centavo for the movie ticket was worth it! naawa lang ako sa pinoy movies when i compared it to panday of that local senator. *no pun intended*

  2. I love Jake’s transformation for this role! Super gwapo! My daughter and I will this coming Tuesday, b4 6 matinee, mura lang…

  3. saw tbis movie yesterday!! Sulit na sulit.. I really enjoyed the movie.. napaka-astig 🙂

    yung Yillin-hoo-la-hey naman, I heard it sa Morning Rush.. that was funny 🙂

  4. We watched that too last Sat. Hubz and I loved the movie as in super love it at…jake is so gwapo talaga 🙂

    Have you watch Shrek na ba? Its a nice flick din. Just watched it last night 🙂

  5. I watched Prince of Persia twice. It’s interesting that the movie attempts to bring honor in the act of suicide and present it in a different way that we all know radical Muslims have been doing it in real life.

Thank you for your comments!

