LETTERS ABOUT TOKYO #12 : ASAKUSA TEMPLE

Dear Tina and Gabby,

One of my memorable mornings  in Tokyo was spent in ASAKUSA TEMPLE  (heard them pronounced it as Asaksa).

 

From Gotanda, I rode a subway train alone directly to Asakusa; after few minutes of train ride, I’ve explored their so-called “traditionally Japanese atmosphere.” 

I had mixed thoughts on seeing human-powered-transport in the form of RICKSHAWS.  I think I cannot pay Y8,000 (PhP 4,000) for several minutes to an hour of a runner’s agony.  But it was nice to know that these runners have passed a licensure exam to do the job and know how to speak English for the sake of tourism.  

The gates to Asakusa Shrine…

The place isn’t hard to locate once you got off from the subway train.  It’s immediately across the main street guarded by a KOBAN or a Japanese Police Station because understandably, Asakusa is one of Tokyo’s main tourist attractions.

Asakusa has the largest CHOCHIN or a Japanese lantern made of framed bamboo wound in spiral that is located at the central entrance of  the KAMINARIMON (雷門, “Thunder Gate”).  After the Kaminarimon, visitors are greeted by souvenir stalls in parallel on way to the main temple.

This was one of the places where I got your little pasalubong. (read : I’ll have another post letter for pasalubong soon).  If you fancy something else that I failed to buy, at least I have captured them in pics, LOL 😀

The souvenir shops along the path to Asakusa Shrine reminds me of the pasalubong stalls in Antipolo Church. 🙂  I did window shopping first and held myself from impulsive buying; after which, I found myself mesmerized by these Buddhist statues…

I like how this monument depicted motherly love; I remember how much you love Gabby, ‘ney

Then I also like this statue of a monk with one foot dangling.  His posture appears peaceful and sublime.

The place also features a 5-tiered tower and the essentials of a Buddhist temple –incense to purify their being; water to wash their hands and mouth; all done to prepare themselves for veneration.

A few steps more to the main Shrine…

Cherry Blossom began to bloom that day…

Lovely as any Spring…

 

In God’s time, we’ll visit Tokyo together and savor these wonderful places again.

I love you, ‘ney and Gabby!

😀 Tatay-doc.

20 thoughts on “LETTERS ABOUT TOKYO #12 : ASAKUSA TEMPLE

  1. Nakakaawa naman yung sa rickshaw. Pano na lang kung puro overweight yung passengers? Huhuhu. Rickshaws are also popular in some areas in India and not just for tourism purposes. Never been there, but I’ve just read about it and mentioned by some colleagues.

  2. malalakas talaga sila, hope may dagdag bayad kung may sumakay na ng gaya ng sinabi nyo.

    emjoy yung picture, para narin akong namamasyal.

    1. hello, ever and thanks for visiting & commenting on my blog.
      bawal po sa japan magbigay ng tip sa mga serbisyo at pagkain. hindi nila kinaugalian at may nagsabi pa sa amin, na parang nababastos daw po sila pag nagbigay ka ng tip. (at least tipid sa bagay na yun, hehe).

      i hope you still follow the rest of this series and my future posts. thanks! 🙂

  3. We have “rickshaw” drivers in some places frequented by tourists in Southern California. The drivers are beefy and muscular – I think they are doing it for exercise, more than for money. I don’t think I will enjoy riding a rickshaw. I don’t even enjoy riding a motorless tricycle back home even when I pay the driver a generous amount. It just doesn’t feel right.

    1. motorless tricycle here means PADYAK or PEDICAB.
      i also try to avoid riding those human-powered wheels; medyo hirap sila pumadyak pag ako ang sakay, LOL.

    1. so you’re enjoying your ‘freedom’ now, sidney? haha.
      how’s your vacation? i hope you had a good one.

      regarding my posts on Tokyo, it’s never too late to catch up.
      thanks for the visit. 😀

  4. i don’t know why, but i love visiting temples. parang there’s something serene about them. and this one is beautiful docgelo! 🙂

    grabe yung tagahila ng rickshaws ha…they’re strong to be able to pull those things for an hour! gosh! at ang mahal ng bayad!

    1. thanks, kg. i also like going to temples; there’s so much culture and traditions other than things about religion in these shrines. i usually admire how they’re built and observe the faithfuls as they offer prayers.

      ang payat ng japanese rickshaw-runner sa photo ko di ba? hehe. but he surely is strong (and strong-willed!) to be able to “tour” his passengers around; with matching tourism descriptions pa daw yun. yup, mahal ang rate! kaw ba naman ang maghila…hehehe…

  5. No matter how old I get I still want to have anything Sanrio. Two weeks in Japan is a good vacation, considering you’re missing Tina and Gabby the whole time. Next time family affair na.

  6. Konichiwa! Beautiful photos! Makes me desire to visit Japan more. Please capture more photos of those gorgeous cherry blossoms. Paborito ko sila.

    Glad to know you’re doing great. Take care always! Ja mata!

    1. hello b’ley!

      i’m already back home and didn’t get to go to UENO PARK where cherry blossoms are now in full bloom! It’s SAKURA SEASON now in Tokyo. Nonetheless, I was lucky to see and experienced cherry blossom even at the early start of Spring there. Yaan mo, babalik kami dun one day (kailan kaya?) and we’ll make sure, it’s Sakura again! I don’t think Tina can withstand winter in Tokyo; ginawin yun e! 😀

      stay tuned, there’s more to come on this series.

  7. Hi Doc Gelo,

    It was nice meeting you earlier! 😀

    I love Japan. It’s my favorite vacation place. You’re so fortunate for catching the sakura in its bright pink state. One time I went they were already white and falling to thr ground, and the other time we were too early they were just starting to sprout from the trees.

    You also went to Nakamise Dori and Sensoji Temple when there weren’t too many people, super lucky! When we went there was a festival and I could hardly move in the shopping alley. Still it was a great experience overall. 🙂

    1. hi rowena! thanks for visiting my humble site. ’twas also a pleasure meeting you in person yesterday at the oakroom of oakwood.

      nice to know you’ve also been to tokyo and experienced what the city has to offer. i had fun shopping cheap souvenir items for my wife and kid at the asakusa temple; it was an ordinary weekday morning when i went there so there was less volume of tourists.

  8. All the while i thought that rickshaws are already extinct, mayroon pa pala sa Japan…nice pictures as always. Your letters to Tina and Gabby would make for a wonderful book about family love.

    Take care there Doc!

    Btw, thanks for leaving a nice comment in my blog. Really appreciated, although when I reopened my computer it had disappeared. I might have erased accidentally, and I don’t know how to un-erase 😦

    1. thanks, dennis.

      you know i am one of your countless avid blog-followers, naks! totoo po yun! i admire your photo-journalism and your travels. it’s always nice to received comments from bloggers i follow. ang saya! 😀 don’t worry, i’ll always post comments on your amazing posts.

Thank you for your comments!

