FRIDAY AT THE MOVIES

Last weekend, Tina, Gabby and I went to Eastwood City to watch the movie adaptation of Charles Dickens’ classic novel, A Christmas Carol. 

While I was a bit sleepy during the entire movie, although not implying that it’s boring or does not interest me; our 5-year-old son, Gabby enjoyed it to the fullest!  😀 Surprisingly, he understood the story and somehow felt what the movie is all about. 

Shame on me I haven’t read its book (my weak defense : it wasn’t required during our days in school so i was busy reading others, LOL) but I can’t deny that its animated version was so digitally enhanced surpassing my expectations to the point of being so rapidly told that one will be left out by the pacing in a blink!

What made me see the movie with my family other than the simple reason that Gabby wanted to watch it, was because of the voices behind its characters – Jim Carey, Gary Oldman, Robin Wright Penn etc.

It’s a movie about how an old man’s life became more meaningful after being haunted by several Christmas apparitions. 

A Christmas Carol is perfect for the holiday; go see it yourself. 😀

Meanwhile, I enjoyed watching trailers of  upcoming movies due 2010 more …

Gabby wants to watch this “SQUEAKQUEL” as soon as it’s released…

While Tina can’t wait to see this :

After seeing a few movie trailers for next year, I googled them and found a ton of exciting movies to catch; and here’s my list :

1.  The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

2.  Alice in Wonderland

3.  A Nightmare on Elm Street

4.  Shrek Forever After

5.  Prince of Persia : The Sands of Time

6.  Toy Story 3

7. Sex and the City 2

8. Eclipse

9. Knight and Day

10. Men in Black 3

11. The Green Lantern

12. Iron Man 2

13. Robin Hood

14. I Love You Phillip Morris

15. Sherlock Holmes

And many more movies to watch out for —> here 😀

What was the last movie you saw?

What movies would you like to watch next year?

21 thoughts on “FRIDAY AT THE MOVIES

  1. I suggest you watch The Lovely Bones. I am not sure when it will be shown here but it’s a great movie. It’s a suspense so I guess Gabby wouldn’t like that. 🙂

  2. I saw New Moon last night (okay lang). Im looking forward to watch Alice in Wonderland and Avatar before the year ends. And for next year, Dear John by Sparks and Alice in Wonderland. Ive read the book and its one of my fave Christmas books hope to see the movie too.

    1. dear john is a mushy movie that i think my mom in uae would love to watch. tina and i prefer action-adventure type of movies; she likes horror flicks, would you believe?! 😀
      i think alice in wonderland is a fun movies for families! 😀

  3. Saw “Blind Side” but if you ever have the chance check out this french movie subtitled in English called “The Diving Bell and The Butterfly” Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    1. hey ingrid, we just had another haagen-dazs pig-out last week; ill post it soon; it’s one of my back log entries. anyway, thanks for sharing!
      …and regarding that post (via URL you’ve shared) about tosca in dusit, we still like dusit thani’s sunday family brunch buffet where tosca along side with basix, benjarong and my personal favorite umu is offered for a price of one.

  4. hi doc! sayang you and your family would have it enjoyed it more sa iMAX 3D! it was awesome! pag lumilipad feeling mo lumilipad ka din. worth it talaga to spend 350. minsan lang naman. and bagay sya sa movie 😉

  5. My wife and three daughters 11 to 23 went to see Christmas Carol at the Imex Theater at SM North-we all really enjoyed it-it is surprisingly faithful to Dickens-great 3 D effects-

    1. hey dennis, those icy drops are courtesy of wordpress, free and will last till 4th of january. at least kahit sa template nakaexperience ako ng snow, haha!

  6. I am planning to read the ebook for the longest time, para nga sana before I get to see this on big screen. Mukhang I’d fail. =( I saw the trailer of Sherlock Homes. I am looking forward to watching it.

Thank you for your comments!

