MALE STYLE ICONS

His Royal Highness Prince Charles was named as the World’s Best Dressed Man by Esquire, putting US president Barack Obama only 4th on the list. According to the article, the likes of David Beckham & Justin Timberlake were also considered but they preferred “men who dress like grown-ups”.
Enough said.

c

I’m far from being a fashion critic but surely know how to spot what’s hot & probably not. I like Obama’s usual dress code, very relax and laid back. He carries it well too but during the inauguration, his pants seemed shouting for a much needed alteration…

obama

I’m very particular on ties & how ties are tied. I mean unless something calls for casual dressing, I think neck ties should be properly chosen and tied. (FYI, I so like affordable silk neck ties of Marks & Spencer, Tie line/Merger & have a collection of them. I stick to the basic solid colors & striped & conservative. My knees are weak in sight of neck ties!).

These past few months, I’ve been looking at some local celebrities’ mode of dressing. Being seen on TV or print gives them a kick to dress up appropriately without being an eye-sore. It annoys me to see someone on TV with poorly chosen neck tie & appreciates someone who can carry this accessory effortless.

With due respect to Esquire’s picks Prince Charles & President Obama, here’s my OWN LOCAL list…

I like ABS-CBN & DZMM broadcasters Ted Failon & Henry Omaga-Diaz. Their styles are just simple, classic, safe & proper. They should give their co-anchor in TV Patrol World & colleague Julius Babao a seminar on how to choose a nice neck tie & how to wear it proudly.

anchor-ted-failon anchor-henry-omaga-diaz

Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila president & United Opposition speaker Atty. Adel Tamano appears to be very particular on being seen well publicly. Similar with Senator Ping Lacson’s style choice. His hair is always kempt, his suits & ties carefuly chosen at all times. Disregarding politics & social issues, these two also made it to my list…

1_405872171l 02280420lacson

I’d also like to single out Erik Santos among the young ones who keeps a dress code worthy of citation.

dsc-7099 erik_santos-cdlite

As I know it, 2 things are not sold in any boutiques & those are breeding & style.

Thank you for your comments!

