ONE PROUD DADDY

PBA0939rs437

God is really BEST! We were only praying this morning for Gabby not to forget his lines as he go up on stage to deliver his 2-stanza-poem entitled, “For My Country” but He made it possible for my son to win 3rd place out of 51 Nursery students, of two sections, mostly 3 1/2 to 4 years of age, in 2009 Twinkle Toes Academy’s Declamation contest held at the auditorium of Stella Maris College, Quezon City.

Not that the venue was far from our place, in fact it’s only 5-minute-drive, perhaps we were only excited for Gabby’s first scholastic/extra-curricular activity so we woke up at four in the morning to prepare for the 7:30AM call time as stated in the school’s memo to parents, that Twinkle Toes Academy teachers intended to promptly start the contest at eight. True enough we were the earliest birds at the venue, we got there an hour before their call time; at least we never rushed for we’re not late and got ample time to smile for the cam…

Gabby & my lovely wife, Tina…
dsc05757dsc05758

Gabby looked even more contest-ready when he wore his Barong complete with buri hat and met his classmates who were also geared up for the competition. I was telling my parents who sat with us at the auditorium that I don’t remember having such activity as early as preschool. Kids now really take one-step ahead in all aspects compared to our generation who were mostly brought up timid & shy, unaware of public speaking & who mostly lacked self confidence during those wonder years…

dsc05762

That’s MY BOY!!!
dsc05775

GABBY with his classmates/co-contestants…
dsc05777

the new cast of Going bulilit, err Sesame Street…Batibot???!!! we wish!
dsc05779

BACKTRACK last December, just before they had their Holiday break, teachers distributed randomly, the different poems to each kids for them to memorize. That’s when Gabby started reciting his piece even during showers.

FOR MY COUNTRY
I surely love my country,
the land in which I live.
And to my own dear homeland,
my trust & faith, I give.

But just to love my country
is not all that I should do.
I must be strong & noble,
courteous, brave & true.
Being a Filipino,
that’s all I should do.

Here’s the video of his award-winning piece, “FOR MY COUNTRY”…

After the 51 nursery pupils declamed with some went up the stage with not only costumes but backdrops & props, there was a 20-minute break before the program host gave the floor to the 71 preparatory kids’ declamation contest. And about an hour before noon time, we just found ourselves walking Gabby to the stage to accept his 2-feet trophy. It was really an amazing experience. Imagine, an achiever at an early age. We can’t help but be proud of him. He’s the champion for us.

dsc05787

dsc05788

This one’s for the books, err blog!!!
dsc05789

dsc057901

And Gabby’s equally proud Lola & Lolo (my parents!)…
dsc057911dsc05793

Then my parents gave their apo a VICTORIOUS lunch treat at Super Bowl of China in Gateway Mall…
dsc05797

We munched on DIMSUM PLATTER…
dsc05798

BEEF with BROCOLLI, YANG CHOW FRIED RICE…
dsc05799

CRISPY LEMON CHICKEN…
dsc05800

and a bucket of TAHO for Gabby…
dsc05801

YOUR MOM & I ARE REALLY PROUD OF YOU, SON!
dsc05795

6 thoughts on “ONE PROUD DADDY

  1. hi sir! my dad and i enjoyed watching your pictures and your little boy’s story. i found your account in google as i was searching for the text of the poem For My Country. He memorized it when he was in grade 3 at MLQ. He is now a 62 year old lawyer. hehehe. Good day! 🙂

Thank you for your comments!

