SANTINO!

This one’s a revelation. I admit to watching teleseryes (TV series) of ABS-CBN with Tina & Gabby on primetime and for the first time will confess that I found myself with crocodile tears on an episode of May Bukas Pa. Call me jologs or even sentimental fool, but I really think that the simple story of the child Santino communicating with “BRO” seems like effective means of reminding adults like me, moreso the kids watching that keeping a personal relationship with the Lord is a priority of our existence and only He is always present with us amidst trials and triumphs.

This is the main plot of the series sourced from abs-cbn.com :
When he was just a baby, Santino (Zaijan Jaranilla) was abandoned by his mother in a monastery. Santino was raised by the caring priests Father Anthony (Jaime Fabregas), Father Jose (Dominic Ochoa), and Father Ringo (Lito Pimentel). As a young boy, Santino will find a friend in a mysterious person named “Bro” who will help him change the lives of the people in their town. May Bukas Pa is a story that is set to open the eyes of viewers that there will always be hope amidst trials and difficulties. Miracles don’t just fall from heaven but comes to those who keep their faith.

showmain-maybukaspa

For a little cynical-judgmental-sometimes sarcastic-sinner like me, crying over a movie or a TV series is so unusual & rare except if it’s really something that moved me. Tonight’s episode of May Bukas Pa was really a tear-jerker, particularly the scene when Santino is being fetched by 2 social workers from the priests who adopted & raised him. The priests agreed on the turnover of custody for there was no legal adoption between them & Santino’s unknown parents. I’m no avid fan of Dominic Ochoa & Lito Pimentel (who are playing priests & fatherly to Santino) but these 2 actors were really effective in that scene. I myself was surprised with how I reacted with that episode. Perhaps I imagined myself in the same situation. I am a dad to my 4-year-old son Gabby & I guess it’s difficult for parents seeing their child being taken away. It’s a dysphoric moment even if it’ll be for the child’s betterment. As Shakespeare put it, “Parting is such a sweet sorrow.” It’s just so heart-breaking.

One thought on “SANTINO!

Thank you for your comments!

