ROXAS CITY, C A P I Z …makisaya, biyahe tayo !

Image Hosted by ImageShack.usImage Hosted by ImageShack.us

The local flight I had last April 20 – 22, 2007 was not actually for leisure but work. I was sent by my office to Roxas City to conduct Medical Surgical NCLEX review.  My flight was delayed making my stay at the boarding area of the airport a little longer. There I saw some celebrities who are also patiently waiting for their own flights. The  basketball teams of San Miguel and Sta Lucia were there waiting for their flight to Tacloban. Then came Team Goma, headed by the wannabe senator and his entourage for a provincial campaign. 

I departed Manila at half hour past noon. The flight via Cebu Pacific was ok, took only 45 minutes to get to Capiz. From the airport I was fetched by the review center coordinator & a reviewee who were both pleasant & accomodating. We went for a late lunch by the shoreline. It was a feast of mouthwatering seafoods you can think of – soup of clams, buttered prawns, grilled tanigue, oysters and pork barbeque. What a way to welcome a manileno.  Then they brought me to Roxas Midtown hotel, a newly built, small but clean, and cozy hotel. Few minutes after check-in, I found myself conducting the first part of the review at the office. The reception of the people (staff & reviewees) from Roxas City was overwhelming. They were warm, interactive with the review & hospitable in every sense of the word.

The whole trip was far from what I had expected. I enjoyed it so much. Besides sharing a bit of my knowledge to local nurses is already fulfilling job, the fact of being in a new place, meeting people & eating good food is even more. I have never eaten that much seafoods with bare hands before – crabs, prawns, clams, fresh & dried fish, grilled or buttered or cooked in soup..hmmm, yummy!!! Now I know why Roxas is known as Seafood Capital of the country. Not to forget the mangoes from Guimaras which were the sweetest I have ever tasted..

I went back to Manila by April 22, Sunday afternoon.

By the way, i did not see any flying half-bodied night creature there as most locals believe. hehehe…

Thank you for your comments!

